The Iron Masters Series

5 books in series
0 out of 5 stars Not rated yet

The Iron Masters Vol. 1: For the Love of Eira Summary

In the 18th century, five men created the biggest industrial city civilization had ever seen. They were the Iron Masters, masters of metal and men. Their cannons saved a kingdom, forged the greatest empire in the world, and changed the history of the human race. Intrigue, bribery, adultery, and murder were common in Merthyr Tydfil, a town where the furnaces burned day and night, the sun seldom pierced the soot filled sky, and the Iron Masters ruled without pity.

Nye Vaughn, a humble farm boy, walked to Merthyr to find his destiny, unaware that a war was coming which would engulf the known world and make bold men rich. To fight Bonaparte, Britain needed cannons, thousands of them. Vaughn built the largest foundry of them all and made his fortune, but when the world changed, the iron behemoth he constructed turned on him.

Graham Watkins joins the ranks of historical authors as he weaves fiction and fact together. The Iron Masters is a story of family, greed, betrayal, and war. It's scope is epic from Wales to Baltimore, from the age of sail to steam railways, from the Battle of Trafalgar to the defiant raising of the American flag over Fort McHenry, signalling the confidence of a new, powerful nation. Many of the characters and events are true and reveal an amazing time in our history.

Above all, The Iron Masters is about extraordinary men and women and how they deal with life’s challenges. If you enjoy a classic novel and are interested in stories set in Georgian Britain when Wales was the British Empire's armorer, this is a story you will appreciate.

Volume 1: For the Love of Eira deals with Nye Vaughn's life from 1780 to 1786. It is the first book of five and the beginning of his adventure.

©2014 Graham Watkins (P)2018 Graham Watkins
Show More Show Less
Not an Audible member?
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.