The Gospel as Revealed to Me

10 books in series
5 out of 5 stars 16 ratings

The Gospel as Revealed to Me: Volume 1 Summary

The Gospel as Revealed to Me (formerly "The Poem of the Man-God") is the title of the new edition of Maria Valtorta's main work. The new English edition is similar to the original Italian both for the title and for the subdivision in 10 volumes.

It narrates the birth and childhood of the Virgin Mary and her Son, Jesus; the three years of Jesus' public life, forming the largest section; his passion, death, resurrection, and ascension; the beginnings of the Church; and the assumption of Mary.

In lofty literary style, the work describes landscapes, environments, people, and events with the vividness of graphic depiction. It presents characters and situations with introspective insight and sets forth moments of joy or drama with the feeling of someone really taking part in them. It provides information on the characteristics of settings, customs, rites, and cultures with convincing detail.

By way of a gripping account of the Redeemer's earthly life, especially through discourse and dialogue, the work sheds light upon the whole doctrine of Christianity in keeping with Catholic orthodoxy.

©2012, 2014 Centro Editoriale Valtortiano srl. (P)2017 Ruach Center Inc.
Show More Show Less

Not an Audible member?

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.