Joanna Piercy

13 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 36 ratings

Wings Over the Watcher Summary

Dedicated to her profession, DI Joanna Piercy has built her imposing reputation on thorough investigative police work. However, the job that once excited and intrigued her has now fallen into a familiar pattern of form filling and snide office banter.

Distracted from her duty by her recent miscarriage and split with her partner, Matthew, Joanna is battling through this painful emotional period alone. She finds solace in her work, yet her focus and coherency are out of sync. She resorts to formulaic solutions to resolve her cases, having seen the same situations time and again. So when Arthur Pennington enters her office in a state of confused distress and reports that his wife, Beatrice, is missing, Joanna does not reciprocate with the same emotion. Convinced that his wife is merely involved in an extra-marital affair, Joanna is dismissive of Arthur's concerns. But when Beatrice's strangled body is discovered recklessly dumped on the Leek moorlands, she is forced to revaluate her stance.

Unbeknown to even her closest family, Beatrice had been harbouring a secret and dangerously obsessive infatuation, which stemmed from her deep-rooted insecurities and low self esteem. And Joanna knows well that unrequited love can not only be hurtful, but fatal!

Continuing the DI Joanna Piercy mystery series, Wings over the Watcher delves deep within the complex puzzle of the female psyche, examining the warped impact marital neglect can have on a woman's mental stability.

©2005 Priscilla Masters
Show More Show Less

Not an Audible member?

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
  • Book 1

    Winding Up the Serpent cover art
    Not Available on
  • Book 2

    Catch the Fallen Sparrow cover art
    Not Available on
  • Book 3

    A Wreath For My Sister cover art
    Not Available on
  • Book 4

    And None Shall Sleep cover art
    Not Available on
  • Book 5

    Scaring Crows cover art
    Not Available on
  • Book 6

    Embroidering Shrouds cover art
    Not Available on
  • Book 7

    Endangering Innocents cover art
    Not Available on
  • Book 8

    Regular price: £22.59

  • Book 9

    Regular price: £17.99

  • Book 10

    Regular price: £15.69

  • Book 11

    Regular price: £20.69

  • Book 12

    Regular price: £18.59

  • Book 13

    Regular price: £19.99