Flavia Albia Mystery Series

10 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 1,258 ratings

The Ides of April Summary

Falco: the new generation - Introducing Flavia Albia. Flavia Albia is the adopted daughter of a famous investigating family. In defiance of tradition, she lives alone on the colourful Aventine Hill, and battles out a solo career in a male-dominated world. As a woman and an outsider, Albia has special insight into the best, and worst, of life in ancient Rome.

A female client dies in mysterious circumstances. Albia investigates and discovers there have been many other strange deaths all over the city, yet she is warned off by the authorities. The vigils are incompetent. The local magistrate is otherwise engaged, organising the Games of Ceres, notorious for its ancient fox-burning ritual.

Even Albia herself is preoccupied with a new love affair: Andronicus, an attractive archivist, offers all that a love-starved young widow can want, even though she knows better than to take him home to meet the parents...As the festival progresses, her neighbourhood descends into mayhem and becomes the heartless killer's territory. While Albia and her allies search for him, he stalks them through familiar byways and brings murder ever closer to home.

The Ides of April is vintage Lindsey Davis, offering wit, intrigue, action and a brilliant new heroine who promises to be as celebrated as Marcus Didius Falco and Helena Justina, her fictional predecessors.

©2013 Lindsey Davis (P)2013 Hodder & Stoughton
Show More Show Less

Not an Audible member?

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
  • Book 1

    • Falco: The New Generation (Flavia Albia, Book 1)
    • By: Lindsey Davis
    • Narrated by: Lucy Brown
    • Length: 11 hrs and 1 min
    • Release date: 11-04-13
    • Language: English
    • 4 out of 5 stars 326 ratings

    Regular price: £19.99

  • Book 2

    Regular price: £19.99

  • Book 2.5

    Regular price: £4.99

  • Book 3

    Regular price: £19.99

  • Book 4

    Regular price: £19.99

  • Book 5

    • Flavia Albia, Book 5 (Falco: The New Generation)
    • By: Lindsey Davis
    • Narrated by: Lucy Brown
    • Length: 12 hrs and 16 mins
    • Release date: 06-04-17
    • Language: English
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars 116 ratings

    Regular price: £19.99

  • Book 6

    • Flavia Albia, Book 6 (Falco: The New Generation)
    • By: Lindsey Davis
    • Narrated by: Jane Collingwood
    • Length: 10 hrs and 52 mins
    • Release date: 05-04-18
    • Language: English
    • 4.5 out of 5 stars 96 ratings

    Regular price: £21.99

  • Book 7

    Regular price: £19.99

  • Book 8

    Regular price: £19.99

  • Regular price: £9.99