Detective Casey White

2 books in series
0 out of 5 stars Not rated yet

The Innocent Girls Summary

Tears stream down her face as she feels the cold blade press against her neck. The sweet scent of her daughter’s favorite strawberry pancakes all around, her last thought is for her beautiful girl. Please, please let Lisa have escaped. 

When Detective Casey White is called early one morning to a beachside vacation campsite in the Outer Banks, she finds the bodies of Carl and Peggy Pearson side-by-side, their throats cut, and their 13-year-old daughter, Lisa, nowhere to be found. Haunted by memories of her own missing girl, Casey fears this could soon become a triple murder: Because without the medication found in the bathroom cabinet, Lisa has just days to live. 

As her team struggle to untangle the meaning of the cryptic symbol carved into the victims’ skin, Casey searches the area for signs of Lisa and is rewarded when she finds her blistered and barefoot, staggering along the highway. The girl barely has breath left to whisper "he invited me" before blacking out. 

Days later, another couple is found murdered on a vacation yacht. A different symbol is etched on their bodies, and their teenage daughter is also missing. Casey’s only clue is an unsettling "invitation" found on the girl’s phone, to a secluded building out in the cornfields. 

Desperate to uncover who is luring these innocent families to their deaths and certain forensics have missed something vital, Casey matches up the crime scene photos herself. The symbols combine to form an upcoming date. The killer is taunting them with the timing of the next murder. 

Racing to follow the invitation in time, when Casey arrives she is shocked to glimpse not the missing girls from this case, but her own missing daughter....

An absolutely addictive mystery thriller that will have you holding your breath until the shocking final twist. Perfect for fans of Kendra Elliot, Robert Dugoni, and Melinda Leigh.  

©2020 B.R. Spangler (P)2020 Bookouture
Show More Show Less

Not an Audible member?

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.