Showing results by author "Bruce Holsinger"

Categories

All Categories

2 results
Sort by
    • A Burnable Book

    • By: Bruce Holsinger
    • Narrated by: Tim Bruce
    • Length: 14 hrs and 8 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 41
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 36
    • Story
      3.5 out of 5 stars 37

    London, 1385: A city of shadows and fear, in a kingdom ruled by the headstrong young King Richard II, haunted by the spectre of revolt. A place of poetry and prophecy, where power is bought by blood. For John Gower, part-time poet and full-time trader in information, secrets are his currency. When close confidante and fellow poet Geoffrey Chaucer calls in an old debt, Gower cannot refuse.The request is simple: Track down a missing book....

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Not the best of its genre

    • By tonywhipp on 15-08-16

    Regular price: £14.49

    • The Invention of Fire

    • By: Bruce Holsinger
    • Narrated by: Simon Vance
    • Length: 13 hrs and 46 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 44
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 39
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 38

    The richly atmospheric new historical thriller featuring John Gower, poet and trader of secrets. Set in the turbulent 14th century, this is perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom. London, 1386: Young King Richard II faces the double threat of a French invasion and growing unrest amongst his barons - and now there's evil afoot in the city. Sixteen corpses have been discovered in a sewer, their wounds like none ever seen before. One thing is clear: Whoever threw the bodies into the sewer knew they would be found - and was powerful enough not to care.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Splendid medieval conspiracy romp.

    • By janice on 16-10-15

    Regular price: £14.49