Showing results by narrator "Toby Longworth" in Crime & Thrillers

Categories

14 results
Sort by
    • Dead Pretty

    • The 5th DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 10 hrs and 21 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 81
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 75
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 75

    One girl's missing. One girl's dead. McAvoy can't let either of them go.... The fifth stunning novel in the DS McAvoy series by best-selling author David Mark, perfect for fans of Val McDermid and Peter Robinson. Hannah Kelly has been missing for nine months. Ava Delaney has been dead for five days. One girl to find. One girl to avenge. And DS Aector McAvoy won't let either of them go until justice can be done. But some people have their own ideas of what justice means.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Sublime 6 stars out of 5!

    • By barbara on 19-04-19

    Regular price: £19.99

    • Rush of Blood

    • By: Mark Billingham
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 237
    • Performance
      4 out of 5 stars 112
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 111

    Perfect strangers. A perfect holiday. The perfect murder.... Three couples meet around the pool on their Florida holiday and become fast friends. But on their last night, their perfect holiday takes a tragic twist: the teenage daughter of another holidaymaker goes missing, and her body is later found floating in the mangroves. When the shocked couples return home, they remain in contact, and over the course of three increasingly fraught dinner parties they come to know one another better.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • My listen of the month

    • By Saffy on 29-08-12

    Regular price: £16.99

    • Dark Winter

    • The 1st DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 7 hrs and 49 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 304
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 275
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 276

    The Sunday Times best-selling first instalment in the Hull-based DS Aector McAvoy series. Meet DS Aector McAvoy, and begin David Mark's addictive crime series. DS Aector McAvoy is a man with a troubled past. His unwavering belief in justice has made him an outsider in the police force he serves, a good man among the lazy and corrupt. Then on a cold day in December he is the first cop on the scene when a young girl is killed in Hull's historic church - and the only one to see the murderer.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Fantastic read.

    • By Impy on 21-01-15

    Regular price: £22.99

    • The Mammoth Book of the Adventures of Moriarty

    • The Secret Life of Sherlock Holmes's Nemesis - 37 short stories
    • By: Maxim Jakubowski
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 20 hrs and 36 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 40
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 39
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 37

    We think of Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Watson, but far more seductive is the pairing of Holmes and Professor James Moriarty, 'the Napoleon of crime' - a rivalry unparalleled in the world of crime fiction. Fiercely intelligent and a relentless schemer, Moriarty is the super-villain as megastar.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • I am a fan of the Napoleon of Crime

    • By Anonymous User on 21-01-16

    Regular price: £25.99

    • Original Skin

    • The 2nd DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 12 hrs and 32 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 126
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 115
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 114

    The second instalment in the acclaimed Hull-based DS Aector McAvoy series and the follow up to the Sunday Times best-selling Dark Winter. Their sins will seal their fate. Suzie Devlin lived for pleasure - until her best friend Simon was murdered. Now Suzie seems to be in the killer's sights.... Who wants her dead? And why? She's done nothing wrong...except, perhaps, get involved with the wrong person. DS Aector McAvoy has been a marked man all his life.

    • 3 out of 5 stars
    • Very easy and enjoyable

    • By Darkin on 05-04-14

    Regular price: £22.99

    • Sorrow Bound

    • The 3rd DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 10 hrs and 9 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 107
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 94
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 94

    No good deed goes unpunished in this third thrilling instalment in the acclaimed Hull-based DS Aector McAvoy series. From the Richard & Judy featuring, Sunday Times best-selling and Kindle chart-topping author of Dark Winter. Philippa Longman did what we all aim to do. She did the right thing. She's about to pay for it with her life.... DS McAvoy has spent his career playing by the rules. He has the scars to show for it.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Part 3 getting even better

    • By Simon1971 on 07-09-16

    Regular price: £22.99

    • Cold Bones

    • DS McAvoy, Book 8
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 10 hrs and 26 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 47
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 44
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 45

    It's the coldest winter in Hull for years. When McAvoy is told by a concerned stranger that an elderly woman hasn't been seen for a few days, he goes to check on her - only to find her in the bath, encased in ice: the heating off, the windows open, the whole house frozen over. It could be a macabre accident, but when McAvoy finds a series of cryptic messages, he senses murder. Someone watched her die.   

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • brilliant!

    • By Yvonne Wilson on 11-02-19

    Regular price: £19.99

    • Taking Pity

    • The 4th DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 10 hrs and 4 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 109
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 98
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 99

    They have taken DS Aector McAvoy's family. They have taken DCI Colin Ray's foundation. They have taken DS Trish Pharaoh's fight. Now the ruthless criminal network that has tightened its stranglehold on Hull intends to take everything that remains from those who dare to stand in its way. Taking Pity is a police procedural thriller that pulls no punches. It is the story of three officers who can take no more and a merciless nemesis that takes no chances, no prisoners and no pity.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • The best yet in this series

    • By Dr Lambert on 25-02-16

    Regular price: £19.99

    • Cruel Mercy

    • The 6th DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 10 hrs and 28 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 60
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 53
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 53

    Three Irishmen went to America. One's dead. One's as good as. One is missing.... The missing man is Valentine Teague. Petty criminal, bare-knuckle fighter - and DS Aector McAvoy's brother-in-law. Back home Val's being held responsible for the blood spilt in the snowy woods of upstate New York.

    • 2 out of 5 stars
    • absolute let down

    • By Paul Broadley on 14-06-17

    Regular price: £19.99

    • Scorched Earth

    • The 7th DS McAvoy Novel
    • By: David Mark
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 8 hrs and 27 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 50
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 43
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 43

    The police think Crystal Heathers isn't missing. The trainee detective assigned to the case isn't so sure. McAvoy thinks someone was being held at the derelict building where they just found a body pinned to the wall...and that all the signs point to it being a little girl. But why would anyone not report a kidnapping? And how far would someone go to get revenge? The case will test McAvoy to breaking point - as the crimes of the present lead him to a final violent confrontation with an enemy from his own past.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Excellent

    • By rachel on 06-03-19

    Regular price: £21.99

    • Deep Shelter

    • By: Oliver Harris
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 9 hrs and 48 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 27
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 27
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 27

    London is steaming under a summer of filthy heat and sudden storms – and Detective Nick Belsey, of Hampstead CID, is trying to stay out of trouble. But then somebody sets him a riddle. How does a man walk into a dead-end alley and never come out? How does he disappear? And then reappear – to snatch a girl, to dump a body beneath a London skyscraper, to send Belsey a package of human hair.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Going Underground

    • By Simon1971 on 14-06-15

    Regular price: £20.09

    • The Hollow Man

    • By: Oliver Harris
    • Narrated by: Toby Longworth
    • Length: 10 hrs and 37 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4 out of 5 stars 44
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 42
    • Story
      4.5 out of 5 stars 39

    Detective Nick Belsey needs help. Something happened last night - something with the boss's wife - and Belsey needs to get out of London, and away from the debt and the drink and the deceit. Collecting his belongings back at Hampstead CID on what should be the last day of his career, Belsey sees a missing person's report. But this one's different; this is on The Bishop's Avenue, one of the most expensive streets in the city. Belsey sees a chance for a new life. But someone else got there first.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • Gripping and very enjoyable!

    • By Miss A Greenaway on 03-02-17

    Regular price: £21.99

    • A Spot of Folly

    • Ten and a Quarter New Tales of Murder and Mayhem
    • By: Ruth Rendell
    • Narrated by: Jonathan Keeble, Toby Longworth, Julian Rhind-Tutt, and others
    • Length: 6 hrs and 34 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      4.5 out of 5 stars 17
    • Performance
      4.5 out of 5 stars 14
    • Story
      4 out of 5 stars 14

    Previously uncollected and unpublished: new short stories from a master of psychological suspense. New and uncollected tales of murder, mischief, magic and madness. Ruth Rendell was an acknowledged master of psychological suspense: these are 10 (and a quarter) of her most chillingly compelling short stories, collected here together for the first time.

    • 4 out of 5 stars
    • Good, but not vintage Rendell

    • By DartmoorDiva on 04-11-17

    Regular price: £27.99

    • Sherlock Holmes - The Adventure of the Perfidious Mariner

    • By: Jonathan Barnes
    • Narrated by: Nicholas Briggs, Richard Earl, Michael Maloney, and others
    • Length: 1 hr and 17 mins
    • Unabridged
    • Overall
      5 out of 5 stars 9
    • Performance
      5 out of 5 stars 6
    • Story
      5 out of 5 stars 6

    It is the long, oppressive summer of 1912. Four months ago the RMS Titanic was lost to the Atlantic. In Europe the drumbeats of war grow louder. These things have yet to touch Mr. Sherlock Holmes who, estranged from Dr. Watson, lives in reclusive retirement on the South Downs. The world’s foremost criminal investigator has turned his back on the past, hiding from the world and thinking himself immune to its excesses.

    • 5 out of 5 stars
    • brilliant

    • By Leigh on 14-09-18

    Regular price: £17.99