Listen free for 30 days

Zanna's Gift

A Life in Christmases
Length: 2 hrs and 14 mins
5 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

When the Pullman family lost their eldest son to an unexpected illness just before Christmas, it was devastating, especially to four-year-old Suzanna who shared a special bond with her big brother. Suzanna grew up to be a famous artist, but to her family, that last painting she made for her big brother was her most important work. This is the story of that gift and how it inspired the Pullman family to keep alive the spirit of love, imagination, and hope for generations to come.
©2004 Scott Richards (P)2008 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

Critic reviews

"In the tradition of Richard Paul Evans's The Christmas Box and The Locket, Richards's sure-to-be-classic tale is highly recommended for the Christmas season and all year 'round." Library Journal
"Zanna's Gift is a Christmas message for our time: a wise and poignant tale of love and faith." (Sharyn McCrumb, author)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 0 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful and moving short novel

Any Orson Scott Card enthusiast who has tried out the audiobook versions will know that they are a wonderful way to access his work, as it is so dialogue based. This is a gem: so beautiful in its simplicity. I had tears running down my face for most of the train journey during which I listened to it, but didn't care: it's exquisitely sad and breathtakingly moving.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rob Prindle
  • Rob Prindle
  • 29-12-10

Hard To Believe This Was Written by OSC

I'm a big OSC fan but this didn't seem as well written or involving as his other work. I'm sure many will find this uplifting, but I found it vaguely depressing.