Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Pre-order Now for £19.99

Pre-order Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

From a powerful new voice in commercial fiction comes Zainab Takes New York - a charming romcom about one woman learning to fall in love in one of the most magical cities on earth. A simultaneous love letter to New York City and to Zainab's ancestors, Ayesha Harruna Attah's novel is perfect for fans of Uzma Jalaluddin, Kiley Reid and Angela Makholwa.

Zainab Sekyi is on a quest to find herself. 

She's moving to New York City to pursue her lifelong dream to become an illustrator, but she doesn't just want to get a job. She's also on a mission to make enough money to go on a night out, buy a whole bottle of wine (not just a glass) and, most importantly of all, to fall in love. 

But as she grows accustomed to the hustle and bustle of city life - with the help of her new roommate Mary Grace and lifelong friend Densua - she begins to hear the voices of her ancestors in her mind.... 

Could understanding her family's past hold the key to Zainab's future?

©2021 Ayesha Harruna Attah (P)2021 Headline Publishing Group Limited

What listeners say about Zainab Takes New York

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.