We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
They Both Die at the End Audiobook

They Both Die at the End

Regular Price:£24.29
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author Adam Silvera reminds us that there's no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day.

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They're going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they're both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There's an app for that. It's called The Last Friend, and through it Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure - to live a lifetime in a single day.

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called "profound".

©2017 Adam Silvera (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.7 (34 )
5 star
 (24)
4 star
 (10)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.7 (30 )
5 star
 (21)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.7 (30 )
5 star
 (22)
4 star
 (6)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Gary W Dublin 01/11/2017
    Gary W Dublin 01/11/2017 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    3
    2
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Emotional Rollercoaster"

    Once Again Adam Silvera ruins me. He takes our emotions and brings us on one hell of a journey. Then he decides thàts not enough so he takes our hearts and rips themto shreds. Thank you Mr Silvera, a job Very Well Done.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Andrew London, United Kingdom 28/10/2017
    Andrew London, United Kingdom 28/10/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    49
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    70
    35
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Quite Enjoyed This."

    Not something I’d usually give a second glance to but the title and concept caught my attention and I have to say, I really enjoyed and it’s performed well too. Definitely worth a listen. Just a bit different. I’ve read a lot of poor reviews of this on GoodReads about the whole ‘love in a day’ scenario - people need to buck up. It is a tad slow here and there, but it’s a great story and well-written too.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Anonymous 08/10/2017
    08/10/2017 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "They both die at the end"

    Absolutely brilliant, heart breaking and everything in between. The last great love story, a modern day LGBT Romeo and Juliet

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Spaceman Stan
    Bangalore, India
    14/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Tear jerker Performance "

    The tale is a beautiful story of connection and giving life a second chance. It meets all the requisites of a great narration, subtle ruses and emotionally inclined.

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Troy
    15/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastically emotional"

    The voice actors are SO perfect for their roles. And the story is so emotional and real and beautiful. Do yourself a favor and give this a listen.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Excelsior
    18/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "He's going to die in the end?"

    Matteo gets a call telling him that he going to die in the next 24 hours and he intends to seize the day. Well, that is, as long as he can leave his apartment.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Anonymous
    02/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Book club recommended"

    Knowing the ending, but not knowing the story, made this a gem of a book. I ended up enjoying both main characters, felt a whole range of thoughts at the end, and look forward to sharing thoughts on an upcoming book club. The use of apps, the color on insta, the real insta handle at the end (awesome touch), the shift in narrator, and the ending all had me feeling the feels.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Laura
    27/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Must-Read"

    The story was captivating, inspiring, heart-breaking, and hopeful. A story of love, loss, and the power of selfless friendship.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    20/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Absolutely Incredible"

    This is by far one of the best books I've read/listened to in a very long time. The narrators were great, the story was great, and I just hope I can find something as good to listen to in the future.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Beth
    19/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I loved it"

    I loved this book so much. The narrators did an amazing job bringing the characters to life, and I didn't want to stop listening to the story. I binged it as fast as I could, which it took me 3 days between work and my twins, but lately that's good timing for me! Every free moment spend with this awesome book. You should get it and listen to it yourself!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Shamiranjeddo
    12/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazingly depressing"

    I knew from the moment I saw the damn title that I was in for a crying session at the end. Tears kept dropping down my face until i couldn't breath.

    This book didn't teach me anything, it merely enforced what I knew already. However, the enforcement that I received was much needed. The book is a metaphor that death will come any day and we have to live for today not for tomorrow and not for yesterday. The choices we make today will impact our lives forever. Rufus’ call would have never come if he and Amy were still together, if he didn't beat peck, if he never met Mateo. Meeting and falling in love with Mateo made Rufus the strong and selfless individual he became. Love, friendship, and purpose changes a person's outlook on life. In a way Rufus self-sabotaged himself but I think it was all worth it.
    This book has made me want to go through life with a purpose in everything I do and pride in whatever I accomplish, will it be small tasks or big ones. I don't want to be wired to live by society's rules and act how people want me to act just so I can hide my true self with a mask. I want to experience I want to live right now, while I'm still young.
    I would only change one thing, the tragic death of my favorite characters. They had so much ahead of them and the love they built in a day. Mateo and Rufus both represent me in a way. Mateo is my inner, more quiet and thoughtful side and Rufus, my louder impulsive side. The two made such a great opposite pair and I wish Silvera could write the endings out and put Mateo and Rufus together.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Greenmarkut
    12/10/17
    Overall
    "A Touching Tale..."

    "They Both Die at the End" really made me evaluate how I live my life. Isn't it better to actually live life , love friends and family and experience the wonder of being than to never really live your life, by being afraid or complacent or just stupid? Even if it's only for one day- make the most of it. Savor every precious moment with those you love.
    I truely liked the characters- I cared about Mateo and Rufus. I would 've liked them as friends. The narration was excellent. I can't recommend this book enough.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • zivimzivot
    Massachusetts, USA
    09/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fleeting and mindless"

    I though I'd enjoy this book more, but the characters felt empty. And somehow knowing they would die at the end made the listening experience distant and fabricated, like the all of the adventures they had throughout the day. Their insights were interesting, but not enough to keep the book going.

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.