We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Thief Audiobook

The Thief

Regular Price:£23.59
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
    • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Discover the world of the Queen's Thief

New York Times best-selling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.

Eugenides, the queen's thief, can steal anything - or so he says. When his boasting lands him in prison and the king's magus invites him on a quest to steal a legendary object, he's in no position to refuse. The magus thinks he has the right tool for the job, but Gen has plans of his own. The Queen's Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans, and have been honored with glowing reviews, "best of" citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen's Thief.

©1996 Megan Whalen Turner (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What the Critics Say

"In addition to its charismatic hero, this story possesses one of the most valuable treasures of all - a twinkling jewel of a surprise ending." ( Publishers Weekly)

"A literary journey that enriches both its characters and readers before it is over." ( Kirkus Reviews)

"A tantalizing, suspenseful, exceptionally clever novel." ( The Horn Book)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

3.9 (9 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
3.9 (7 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.3 (7 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Ronnie R
    Texas
    16/05/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The first of many great stories"

    This writer is one of the funnest riders to read. This story The Thief is one of the best. This is a good safe clean story for young folks and adults alike. I have waited many years for audible to finally pick up this writer and I am so glad they have. Probably because of the popularity of the book that was just released it has caused publishers to notice how many people are looking forward to stories from Megan Whalen Turner. It is a good fiction story with a fun plot about mythology. I hope you enjoy it as much as our family has. RPR

    4 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Gee
    21/05/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A favorite"

    Wonderful story, wonderful narration. While there is a bit of a slow start, by the end I couldn't wait for the next book. I hope people give it a try, because it is very much worth a credit.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Katie
    Chicago
    09/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Narrator is wrong choice"

    I've read the book many times so it seemed natural to add this to my audible collection. The book itself is fantastic. Unfortunately the narrarator choice isn't great. Him reading other books would be fine but his deep scratchy voice was totally the wrong pick for a whiney adolescent that probably hasn't hit puberty or is just going through it. It didn't fit the character at all and this book is written in first person!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Zaseka
    17/05/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Outstanding book"

    This is a simply amazing story, narrated expertly. It is nice to see one of my favorite books from my childhood done so much justice.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • andrew
    03/06/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book, wrong narrator"

    I first listened to The Thief as a book on tape (yes cassette tape, I am that old) preformed by Jeff Woodman when i was in middle school. Mr Woodman gave a much better performance than Mr West has. Mr West has a slow, monotone, deadpan voice during most of the narration that gives the story the feel of an uninterested and uninteresting person recounting a series of events in a business setting, only injecting feeling and emotion into the performance during character dialog. This style of narration glosses over much of the humor, sarcasm, and wit that really brings this book to life and makes Eugenides such an interesting and enjoyable character.

    Its not that Mr West is a bad narrator, i am sure that someone who had never encountered Mr Woodman's performance would find this to be an acceptable audio book. i just remember this audio book being so much more than just acceptable.

    7 of 9 people found this review helpful
  • Winnie
    22/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "High marks for worldbuilding, light on plot"

    Reviews for the subsequent books indicate that the series improves with the sequels, so there is possibility that this is just the set-up to a great series. I have not finished the sequels though, so as it stands, this is an okay start. I'm not sure whether I will dive into the sequels (it isn't a high priority for me based on this one).

    The worldbuilding is good and created a distinct mythos and culture for this universe. It did come at the cost of plot though. It is not a long book, so more could have been added without making the book overlong. In the last couple hours more does happen and it gets more interesting. However, the first half is so focused on mythology (even at the expense of character work) that I did not feel a vested interest in what happened to these characters.

    I used a credit on this book because I read a different review that positively compared it to the Ascendance Trilogy (a.k.a. The False Prince) which I adore. This book is not at that level for me. This is fine, just nothing that blew me away. The narrator is a bit monotonous, but not awful. The book is a little slow, but not awful. That's basically the entire book for me. It's decent, but I'm not sure if I like it.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Paper Poppet
    New York
    09/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Still one of my all time favorite stories!"

    I read this series as a teenager and listened to them recently as an adult, they completely hold up and still remain one of my favorite series. They are perfect for any age and anyone into fantasy, war, intrigue, or romance. Everything is expertly written. I just love how fleshed out the world Megan Whalen Turner created is, the history and little details is outstanding. There are so many little scenes that I keep going back to in my mind thinking about how great they are. Eugenides is just everything, he is witty, brilliant, a true romantic, an idiot, and a big baby. I just love love love him and bet anyone who listens or reads this series will agree.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Emily O
    14/06/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved the Story & Narrator"

    It's rare for me to stumble upon a book that I really love, but this is one of them! Action, adventure, mystery all rolled into one story. The characters and plot movement took priority over stereotypical pitfalls that most books fall into. At first I really disliked Magnus' style of voice, but it got his first-impression character across quickly. Then I grew to like him as Gen did as well. Plus, a couple plot twists at the end! Very well done and can stand on it's own feet! I was confused as to the narrator's very aristocratic style for the first-person POV, but I think it all comes together in the end. :) Worth a credit or a purchase!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Kindle Customer
    North Charleston, SC
    05/01/18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Really really good "

    The narration was really good. I love Gen. I love his attitude. His book is very entertaining, and that twist!! I didn’t see it coming. I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the series!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amy Reynolds
    28/12/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Completely fantastic "

    This is my favorite book series of all time, and these audiobook editions do the stories complete justice.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.