We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Queen of Attolia Audiobook

The Queen of Attolia

Regular Price:£26.79
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Discover the world of the Queen's Thief

New York Times best-selling author Megan Whalen Turner's entrancing and award-winning Queen's Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner's Queen's Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin.

The brilliant thief Eugenides has visited the Queen of Attolia's palace one too many times, leaving small tokens and then departing unseen. When his final excursion does not go as planned, he is captured by the ruthless queen. The Queen's Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans and have been honored with glowing reviews, "best of" citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, A Conspiracy of Kings, and Thick as Thieves, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen's Thief.

©2000 Megan Whalen Turner (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What the Critics Say

"Readers will be spellbound." (Kirkus Reviews)

"Turner's storytelling is so sure that readers will want to go along with her - and discover whatever it is that Eugenides will do next." (Publishers Weekly)

"[An] intense read...thoroughly involving and wholly satisfying on all fronts." (The Horn Book)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

5.0 (3 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
5.0 (2 )
5 star
 (2)
4 star
 (0)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (2 )
5 star
 (1)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance


There are no listener reviews for this title yet.

Sort by:
  • Heather
    Jacksonville, FL, United States
    19/06/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Perfectly crafted story, flawless performance"

    A gorgeous stand alone follow up to The Thief. The story is crafted with tight language and rich in subtext. You'll want to immediately re-read to figure out how Megan Whalen Turner did it!
    Steve West's performance is perfect and enriched

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    29/05/17
    Overall
    "Long live the queens!"

    The queens of Eddis and Attolia were both minor princesses not intended for the thrones of their countries. But their royal experiences are completely different. Eddis is stable, but Attolia's barons are chronically rebellious.

    Queen Attolia has sworn that the next king will be her personal choice, no matter what her barons say. Two other countries are eager to exploit the barons' disloyalty, eager enough to bankroll rebellions. Determined to safeguard her throne, Attolia has acquired a reputation for ruthlessness.

    For Queen Eddis, nothing is more dangerous than Attolia's instability. King Sunis wants to marry Eddis, but the queen and her nobles oppose the marriage as he is not a man to be trusted. Her refusal angers Sunis into seeking an excuse for war. With an unstable Attolia on her other border, Eddis could easily fall into a bloody two-front war.

    Both countries need an ally, but allies are in short supply. Even if an ally Is available, the price of an alliance is a marriage in a world where the king outranks the queen.

    Is there any way for either queen to ensure the freedom of her country without losing her own sovereignty?

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • JONATHAN
    Denver, CO
    23/05/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "great narrator"

    Steve West does a great job portraying Eugenides' emotions. Glad this is finally on audio!

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • LoLaJ
    13/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "One of my most favorite series of all time."

    I can't say enough good things about this series or this book in particular. And though I was hesitant about Steve West's narration at first, bc he narrates another favorite book with very different characters, I've come to love his voice bringing this story to life.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Stormy
    29/08/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "First book is better"
    What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

    The story falls apart for me. I don't have a problem with the premise of the story just the execution. It feels like there is a book/plot points missing.


    What was most disappointing about Megan Whalen Turner’s story?

    The execution of the middle/ending of the book.


    What about Steve West’s performance did you like?

    I liked Steve West portrayal of the main character.


    What character would you cut from The Queen of Attolia?

    None, I think the core of the characters are good I just think the way the story was handled was poor. It's sad because I really like the first book.


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • MAlvarado
    25/07/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "The Queen is no joke! A million stars"

    My favorite of the series. If you're on the fence, get off now and give this a listen.

    Steve West is the PERFECT narrator for this tale and many others.

    Now quit reading this and get to reading about the Queen of Attolia!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    17/07/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Loved it!"

    Don't know how someone can make me hate and then love a character so much in just one book. Unexpected turn of events don't cover it with this series. I would definitely recommend this book to anybody that just wants a good book.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.