We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Bone Sparrow Audiobook

The Bone Sparrow: A Refugee Novel

Regular Price:£9.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction prize 2016.

Perfect for fans of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas.

This is a beautiful, vivid and deeply moving story about a refugee boy who has spent his entire life living in a detention centre. This novel reminds us all of the importance of freedom, hope and the power of a story to speak for anyone who's ever struggled to find a safe home.

Born in a refugee camp, all Subhi knows of the world is that he's at least 19 fence diamonds high, the nice Jackets never stay long, and at night he dreams that the sea finds its way to his tent, bringing with it unusual treasures. And one day it brings him Jimmie.

Carrying a notebook that she's unable to read and wearing a sparrow made out of bone around her neck - both talismans of her family's past and the mother she's lost - Jimmie strikes up an unlikely friendship with Subhi beyond the fence. As he reads aloud the tale of how Jimmie's family came to be, both children discover the importance of their own stories in writing their futures.

©2016 Zana Fraillon (P)2016 Orion Children's Group

What the Critics Say

"...a special book." (Morris Gleitzman, author of the acclaimed Once series)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.4 (9 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.3 (8 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
3.9 (8 )
5 star
 (3)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (4)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    s 10/06/2017
    s 10/06/2017 Member Since 2017
    RATINGS
    REVIEWS
    6
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "You must listen to this story."

    Thought provoking. Deals with the very relevant issue of refugees. There but for the grace of God go I. It shows how we can learn so much from children, their love and acceptance breaks down barriers.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.