Regular price: £25.39

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant new crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever detective yarn will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter. 

Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers were one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She's inherited Sherlock's volatility and some of his vices - and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she's not looking for friends. 

But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting, and nowhere is safe - and the only people they can trust are each other.

This production includes a bonus excerpt from The Last of August, the second audiobook in Brittany Cavallaro’s Charlotte Holmes Series.

©2016 Brittany Cavallaro (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Phoenix
  • 15-02-17

Excellent concept

Would you consider the audio edition of A Study in Charlotte to be better than the print version?

Yes. The performance by Graham Halstead brought Jamie to life.

What other book might you compare A Study in Charlotte to and why?

I don't think I have read another book I would compare this too. The concept of the future Holmes/Watson generations is a unique one.

What about Graham Halstead and Julia Whelan ’s performance did you like?

Graham Halstead's performance was excellent as Jamie in narration. His unique voices for each character made the story feel like a clear reconnection of Jamie's. I fully enjoyed his performance. Julia Whelan captured Charlotte's cool and detached personality.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes. The first time I listened to this book, I hated having to press pause to get back to the real world. I have since listened to the book several times, many in one sitting. The story is fast paced and exciting. Each chapter left me wanting to know what would happen next. Some plot points required re-listening to fully understand what happened. It is a story I enjoy re-listening to.

Any additional comments?

The concept of a future Holmes/Watson generation is a unique one. Every modern adaptation of the Sherlock Holmes stories has placed the original pair in modern day. This take of what Sherlock and John's descendants' lives might be like was intriguing and exciting.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • ARae
  • 21-01-18

3.5 ☆s

I have recently come to realize how much I love Sherlock Holmes retellings. This didn't disappoint me.

First, I love the idea that the main characters are descendants of Sherlock Holmes and Watson. Also Holmes is a female and she's rather bad was. She is one strong female character that is highly intellectual. As for James, reading from his perspective allows you to really relate to the characters and love them. Without james fondness for Holmes I am not sure she was a character I would have liked or not.

This book has some triggers; drug usage and rape. So if you don't want to read about those things, this may not be for you.

I gave this book 3.5 stars, it was going to be 3 stars until I reached the epilogue. I LOVED that epilogue and I want more from Charlotte perspective. The reason that I didn't give more stars though is because the big reveal in the end didn't blow me away and also because I sometimes felt like I missed something. The story felt like it jumped around for me on some occasions.

I believe there is a second book and I will for sure be picking it up.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • J. Swartout
  • 11-09-17

Okay

I love Sherlock Holmes. This is not Sherlock Holmes. The story is okay but it just seems to resolve quick and there's some semi forced relationship between charlotte and Jaime. I was also a little concerned with pretty casual drinking and drug use amongst high school kids in a dorm without really any consequences. It was okay though

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • delao13
  • 11-12-16

Very, very good. interesting plot.

Eh, James is a bit sappy, romanticizing everything, especially Charlotte, but the story is 10/10. Very interesting.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Daniel B.
  • 17-01-18

Dreadful

- it was not a good mystery
- insane plot holes that do not respect the reader’s intelligence
- melodramatic beyond all fun

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Mary K.
  • 11-01-18

Interesting

An interesting take on the Sherlock/Holmes relationship.
I'll definitely continue the series and recommend them as fun listening/reading.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Virginia
  • 10-01-18

Not just for young adults

If you are a fan of Sherlock Holmes, you will enjoy this. Great plot and outstanding narration

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-01-18

Looking Forward to Book Two

Would you listen to A Study in Charlotte again? Why?

Yes, because now that I know "who done it" I would like to go back to see all of the clues that led up to the conclusion. I enjoyed hearing it the first time and know a second listen would be enjoyable as well.

What other book might you compare A Study in Charlotte to and why?

The obvious answer here would be any of the Sherlock Holmes books. The author did a good job of staying faithful to the mystery and quirkiness of Sherlock himself.

Which character – as performed by Graham Halstead and Julia Whelan – was your favorite?

I liked both main characters, but I guess I would have to choose Jamie as my favorite. I like how he struggled to keep up with Charlotte, on a variety of levels, and never gave up. He learned a lot about himself along the way.

Any additional comments?

Being a Sherlock Holmes fan, I nearly didn't get this book. I didn't want to find a copy cat author that fell short. I'm so glad I listened to some of the other reviewers. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and look forward to listening to book two when it comes outs.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jeanne DeShazer
  • 08-12-17

Modern, retelling of Doyle's A Study in Scarlet

I found this fun and a good way to clear my mind after studying. While this author is no Anthony Horowitz her story moves along well, is funny and she updates the Victorians story well. I would read another one.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Just Another Story
  • 24-10-17

So boring

While the narration of this novel was good. I thought both narrates did a good job. The overall story was SO boring and ridiculous. I did not enjoy it at all.