Listen free for 30 days

Women of the Dunes

Narrated by: Lesley Mackie
Length: 12 hrs and 42 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
5 out of 5 stars (10 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The new novel from the acclaimed author of The House Between Tides, winner of the Waterstones Scottish Book of the Year 2018!  

On the rugged, sea-lashed coast of west Scotland lies Ullaness: home to the Scottish legend of Ulla, a Viking woman who washed up on Scottish shores centuries ago. The legend will bring the stories of three different women together. 

In AD 800 there is Ulla, lost in a foreign country after her lover is brutally killed. Ellen, a servant-girl in the 1800s, catches the unwanted attentions of the master of the house's lascivious son. And, in the present day, there is Libby - an archaeologist who is determined to uncover an age-old mystery.

When a body is excavated from Ullaness - the body of someone who was murdered long ago - the mystery deepens, and the fates of the three women become ever more tightly bound.  

Women of the Dunes is the new gorgeously sweeping historical novel from Sarah Maine. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Jenny Ashcroft.

©2018 Sarah Maine (P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Critic reviews

"Sarah Maine is a master of Scottish historical fiction." (Sunday Post) 

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.