Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The case was closed. Until people started dying....

DI Thomas Ridpath was on the up in the Manchester CID: a promising detective who captured a notorious serial killer. But 10 years later, he’s recovering from a serious illness and on the brink of being forced out of the police. Then people start dying, in an uncanny echo of his first case.

As the murder count grows, old records, and bodies, go missing. Caught in a turf war between the police and the coroner’s office, Ridpath is in a race against time. A race to save his career, his marriage, and innocent lives.

When a detective disappears, everything is on the line. Can Ridpath solve the case and save his colleague?

A nail-biting crime thriller, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James, and D. S. Butler.

©2018 MJ Lee (P)2019 MJ Lee

What listeners say about Where the Truth Lies: A Completely Gripping Crime Thriller

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    64
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Really enjoyed this a pleasure to read,very relatable fast paced and engaging,looking forward to next installment,

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

lots of twists and turns

really good book lots of twists right til the end looking forward to the next

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

is this for real?!

Manchester my ar$e!! we don't talk like the Hovis man and are not part of deepest Yorkshire. the accents were dreadful, annoying and off-putting to say the least. I found myself listening just to pick out how bad it was. He pronounced towns wrong as in North End Un..instead or Northenden all as one and Al- trin-Cham with emphasis on cham when it's a silent h and said all in one. spoiled what may have been an ok story otherwise.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Don’t believe those 5star reviews

This is thin stuff at every level. The miscarriage of justice plot line is a cliché now and it’s obviously setting up the audible version of “Quincy MD” or even the audiobook of “Silent witness”. But it’s a rather feeble attempt as the research seems to be absent on the majority of issues. That makes me doubt the veracity of things where I have no knowledge at all. So without any significant story spoilers we all know that when you say over, you wait for a response rather than saying more and over again. Police procedure from crappy fly on the wall tv shows makes it very obvious when someone is making stuff up. I think the thing that irritates me unreasonably is the idea that someone signed off for full return to duty with many interviews with HR should be subject to 1) sideways posting/secondment, 2) threats of killing the protagonist’s career should not feel empowered to force fair treatment. The cancer stuff is similarly weak. First it’s “the Christie” hospital. Next anyone in remission is not still on an experimental drug which must be something novel as it’s an experimental treatment. All totally lacking in any feeling that this should be convincing. Like so many books and audiobooks, this would benefit from the input of a good editor to press for changes and pruning of the padding (unlikely for audible which seems to justify prices by length).
The author also needs to read up about formalin infusion. There’s a literature out there so why make stuff up. Do you not know the difference between volume and mass.
The performance is not good as the reader hasn’t taken the trouble to look up pronunciation of medical terms or many polysyllabic words. The one that I think is inexcusable is “detritus” which to me is in such common usage that scrambling it is just slack. Readers should do a bit of work for their fee!
So the author should sharpen up their act and get stuff right rather than this complacent hokum. For a long journey I might try one more but if it’s similarly lazy and slack that will be the last.
In summary not Simon Kernack bad but weak and in need of serious effort if the series isn’t to scrape the audible barrel.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a really good plot

Well read and a great plot. Our hero is mild mannered and normal rather than a superhero

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Where the truth lies

First listen too this series it was a good book. Narrator was very good. Going to listen too book 2 in the series.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well read.

i really enjoyed the plot and storyline. would recommend to others without a doubt.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

gripping

A really gripping story. A fantastic ending, let's hope there's a part 2? Great twists and turns, really keeps you guessing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A fantastic book

Draws you into a dangerous world of tracking down the ‘Manchester beast’ this is a gripping thriller , so excellently written , the plot was so good and the narrators Mancunian accent amazing . Please read this book , it’s brilliant

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I have enjoyed this.

This first book in the series had been gripping. I was hoping to buy the next in series but even though it was published 2019 not on Audible yet, I hope it will be soon. The Narrator has been excellent too.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for  Van
  • Van
  • 08-06-21

Brutal

Could not finish this book because it is too ugly. the murderers are very sick people and I would rather not spend my reading time hearing how they torture and dismember people for fun.
I was very disappointed in this book after reading The Irish Inheritance I expected much more

if I could give it no stars I would

1 person found this helpful