Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The twisty, gripping psychological thriller about a mother working at a Missing Persons helpline who receives a desperate phone call from her own daughter, who went missing four years before - perfect for fans of I Let You Go by Claire Mackintosh and Tell No One by Harlan Coben.

My name is Kate.
 

I volunteer at a local charity - young people who have run away from home call me
and I pass on messages to their loved ones, no questions asked.
 

I don't get many phone calls, and those I do are usually short and vague, or pranks.
 

But this morning a girl named Sophie called.
 

I'm supposed to contact her parents to let them know their child is safe.
 

The problem is, Sophie isn't safe.
 

And Sophie is my daughter.

©2018 Emma Rowley (P)2018 Orion Publishing Group

What listeners say about Where the Missing Go

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hooray

For a good book, loved this one, was interesting throughout and kept you guessing. Lovely narration, yes I am hard to please but this one was quality.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Compelling

This has been the sort of story that begins as an intriguing mystery but builds to a gripping read. The plot is cleverly constructed and builds at a pace that draws you in. The main characters are very credible in their actions and reactions to situations in the plot. I shall look out for more of this author's books.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brill storyline,

loved it, listened to in a few sittings just didn't want to put it down, we'll worth a token.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

Kept me on the edge of my seat! Loved it! Well written and well read!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Twists and turns.

Good story overall held my attention well although the last few chapels seemed to be drawn out. Would recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

heart-racing story

After Kate' daughter goes missing and her marriage falls apart, Kate volunteers at a kids help-line where runaways are encouraged to phone in and leave a re-assuring message to be passed onto their parents.
One night whilst on duty Kate takes a call from her daughter, Sophie, who everyone else believes is dead, but Kate is sure is still alive and now she has proof.

A fast-paced story which keeps you listening (all night in my case)!.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Slow start but picks up pace

I was instantly intrigued after reading the blurb and listening to the Audible sample. I knew this book had the potential to be great. I was disappointed at first as I found the book quite slow paced and wondered if it would be like that throughout, however, once the second narrator comes into the story portraying the character of Sophie, the books pace picks up and the story gets more gripping with each chapter.
The narrators are great and really get across the emotions of the characters and the drama unfolding and over all, I would rate this book 4,5 stars.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sharon de Wilzen
  • Sharon de Wilzen
  • 09-10-19

Great plot

Well narrated, kept suspense to the end. Really enjoyed this story and highly recommend it