Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
What Time Is Love? cover art

What Time Is Love?

By: Holly Williams
Narrated by: Alexandra Roach
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Listeners also enjoyed...

Told You So cover art
Life Before Us cover art
The Best Days of Our Lives cover art
Rachel Ryan's Resolutions cover art
A Casterglass Christmas cover art
The Little Library on Cherry Lane cover art
Relative Love cover art
London, with Love cover art
The Long Way Home cover art
A Home in the Sun cover art
Good Girls cover art
A Vicarage Christmas cover art
One Good Thing cover art
Women at War cover art
Promise Me cover art
The Other Woman cover art

Summary

1947. 1967. 1987.
When Violet and Albert first meet, they are always twenty.

Three decades.
Over the years, Violet and Albert's lives collide again and again: beneath Oxford's spires, on the rolling hills around Abergavenny, in stately homes and in feminist squats. And as each decade ends, a new love story begins...

Two people.
Together, they are electric and the world is glittering with possibility. But against the shifting times of each era, Violet and Albert must overcome differences in class, gender, privilege and ambition. Each time their lives entwine, it will change everything.

One moment is all it takes...
As their eyes first meet, for a split-second it's as if the clocks have stopped. Nothing else matters. Yet whichever decade brings them together, Violet and Albert are soon forced to question: what if they met the right person at the wrong time?

A sweeping, nostalgic and dazzlingly immersive love story, perfect for fans of The Versions of Us by Laura Barnett, Miss You by Kate Eberlen and Normal People by Sally Rooney.

©2022 Holly Williams (P)2022 Orion Publishing Group

Critic reviews

"A startlingly great debut. Holly's beautiful prose smoulders, crackles and roars." (Daisy Buchanan)

"Delightful, insightful and immersive." (Kate Eberlen)

"It's the new One Day!" (Fabulous)

What listeners say about What Time Is Love?

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A brilliant & engrossing debut novel.

Set in three epochal time periods during the 20th century. The same couple meet & fall in love but each time frame throws challenges which they must try to overcome. Deep & beautiful & challenging & compulsive. Loved it! Highly recommended.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Fabulous New Sliding Doors Drama

I'm not much of a fictional reader, tending to prefer the factual or historic. This beautiful new fiction by Holly is the perfect mixture of all three. I found myself so involved in the fates of V and Albert that when each era ended I found myself wanting to know what happens next, but very quickly then found myself wanting to know how the story changed in time. A very novel, very clever and extremely well researched book. I really hope that one day, as another reviewer suggested it makes a great film. Looking forward to Holly's next book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A truly enthralling listen

I absolutely loved this book - I was whisked up in it immediately and didn’t lose interest once

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliantly written, A Joy!

There are so many cultural references spanning half a century, this book should be made compulsory for students of modern cultural history! The idea of setting the couple in three different eras is fascinating and the author has managed to convey the reactions and opinions of each time perfectly. What an enormous amount of research must have gone into this book - it certainly paid off! A pity about the rather disastrous pronunciation error - obviously not evident when reading the written word. Hopefully in this digital age it can be swiftly amended and future Audible listeners will be unaware. I am looking forward to the next book from Holly Williams and would even suggest that What Time Is Love? would make a terrific film!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating and well written

I really enjoyed this book, its epic in how it looks at three distinct historical and political moments in British history and politics, and incredibly moving in how it tracks the same romantic relationship through the three timeliness, highlighting just how much our cultural context imbues our personal lives and determines our outcomes.
My only minor complaint is with the performance. The actor is noticeably losing her voice a few hours in, and her obvious discomfort makes listening difficult and uncomfortable. It felt a great shame, as it distracts from the writers great storytelling.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!