Try an audiobook on us

Wartime Brides and Wedding Cakes

Wartime Bakery, Book 2
Narrated by: Julie Maisey
Length: 7 hrs and 11 mins
5 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)
Regular price: £27.99
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A romantic and heartwarming tale of cakes and confetti, perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry, Nadine Dorries and Ellie Dean. 

January 1941: As Charlie Barton tiptoes silently out of the house one cold winter morning to go off and fight for his country, his wife, Audrey, is left to run the family bakery on her own. 

Times are tougher than ever, but at the Barton Bakery in Bournemouth, Audrey is determined as always to serve the town with love, loaves and cakes, even as the town is reeling from the struggles of the Blitz. 

Audrey’s brother, William, has returned from battle with serious wounds. His fiancé, Elsie, is waiting for wedding bells, but William is a changed man, and will her hopes be in vain? 

Bakery helper Maggie has her heart set on dashing officer George. But will George still want to marry her when he discovers the truth about her family? 

And Lily, Audrey’s stepsister, is struggling to raise her illegitimate baby and facing judgment from many in the town. The man who broke her heart returns with an offer, and Lily faces a hard decision about where her future lies. 

When disaster strikes the bakery, Audrey fears that everything she has worked for may be ruined. With her shop threatened and her family in turmoil, can she fight to save everything she holds dear?

©2018 Amy Miller (P)2018 Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

It set in war time

It is set in the war time a good story of love and longing ace

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My little bit of heaven.

No don’t stop! I want to be taken back to the bakery. I want to be right where the action is....... This book was my little bit of heaven. Sitting knitting while the silky voice of Julie Maisy read along. I only hope she reads the next book. After all she brings the characters to life.......she makes them real. Thank you Amy for a wonderful book.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • yvonne
  • 09-02-19

love

Wonderful book a great book a must for historical fictional book lovers I want her to write more