Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £20.89

Buy Now for £20.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Sherlock Holmes is an unparalleled genius. Warlock Holmes is an idiot. A font of arcane power, certainly. But he's brilliantly dim. Frankly, he couldn't deduce his way out of a paper bag.

The only thing he has really got going for him are the might of a thousand demons and his stalwart companion. Thankfully, Dr. Watson is always there to aid him through the treacherous shoals of Victorian propriety and save him from a gruesome death every now and again.

©2017 G. S. Denning (P)2017 Recorded Books Inc

Critic reviews

"A must for all those who like their Holmes on the wilder side." (George Mann, author of Sherlock Holmes: The Spirit Box)
"I laughed like a loon." (James Lovegrove New York Times best-selling author of The Age of Odin)

What listeners say about Warlock Holmes: The Hell-Hound of the Baskervilles

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    106
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    110
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    91
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

top class

gutted it's over and I don't have the next book to listen to. It's that good. amazing book.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

amazing!

was very funny and narrated very well! enjoyed the similarity to the original sherlock holmes

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The game is a foot Whatssssa

Really fun and refreshing. Does not take itself too seriously. A rip roaring romp around Victorian London. Excellent narrator who brings the characters to life.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • GV
  • 03-06-17

Sherlock Holmes will never be the same

What did you like most about Warlock Holmes: The Hell-Hound of the Baskervilles?

The geriatric Hell-Hound, the literal-minded demons, the usual shenanigans, the somewhat dim Holmes and as always; Watsons comments. And of course, the landlady.

What other book might you compare Warlock Holmes: The Hell-Hound of the Baskervilles to, and why?

Sherlock Holmes, but with demons and a fairly dim-witted Holmes. This is clearly a spoof on Sherlock Holmes, but a lot more entertaining.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

Any scene with Watson annoyed. Also trying to figure out which Sherlock Holmes story is being mangled (with added demons)

If you made a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

If you have to, make an anime. A "normal" film can't do this justice.

Any additional comments?

And waiting for the next installment...

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A great series so far!

Warlock was at it again, with good old Watson at his side keeping him (mostly) alive. I really liked getting to learn more about the making of Warlock Holmes, and his back story was superbly crafted for his character.
This is a truly excellent series so far!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Better than the original.

I have read the hound of the Baskerville's many times but this was better. Warlock Holmes is a wonderful character, complicated, compassionate and funny. All the characters are excellent, clever versions of their originals, as are the stories and the narrator is perfect.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful

very poor pastiche terrible narrator starts trying for a Canadian accent rapidly falls into a poor Scots one part way through a line. kept hoping it would improve sadly no. if it was meant to be funny it missed by a mile.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible

I tried to get through it but had to give up when Holmes snorted a walking cane from his nose. If you’re a fan of Sherlock Holmes is certainly one to avoid and ,even if you’re not, and simply a fan of fantasy fiction it’s still one to avoid. The poor narration simply added to it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Lackluster, convoluted, occasionally Humorous.

Fans of Holmes and Watson will disparage what has happened to the characters: in this author's interpretation Holmes is a whiny fool and Watson a bumbling ass who is somehow better at deduction. Cases are contrived, magic is gimmicky, but worst of all the "plot/mystery" survives only by the virtue of nearly every character being blind as a bat or as dumb as rocks. The narrator is the only real upside to this title having provided a lively, varied and articulate reading. I humbly, but strongly advise seeking listening pleasure elsewhere.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Lost interest halfway through

It started off quite interesting. There were several shorter stories/ mysteries at the beginning that I really enjoyed. However for the last 3 quarters of the book it was just the one story, "The Hellhound of the Baskervilles" and I found myself not caring, losing interest, drifting off. It dragged on far too long compared to the stories at the beginning.