Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Jo did not stop until he'd shut the door behind him and even then his heart could not stop pounding in his ears.

Jo finds out that Jewish children are being smuggled away from the Nazis over the mountains near his village. All goes to plan until German soldiers start patrolling the mountains, and Jo realises the children are trapped. Jo's slightest mistake could have devastating consequences.

Shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal and Guardian Fiction award.

In the tradition of Goodnight Mr Tom, Carrie's War and The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and perfect for fans of The Bone Sparrow, Waiting for Anya is a novel that takes children to the heart of a tumultuous period in history. It will provide a wider context for kids who have studied the Holocaust and The Diary of Anne Frank.

©2020 Michael Morpurgo (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"The adventure of the Jews' escape into Spain is both gripping and temperate." (Publishers Weekly)

What listeners say about Waiting for Anya

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

outstanding

This book made me cry not at the end but all the way through. A truly fascinating story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

I was unsure what to expect as this book is written aimed.at older children however i found that i became involved with all the characters from the minute they were introduced. Hard to switch it off. Although being overtired i did fall asleep at one point and had to rewind . Would recommend for all ages

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story

This is the first-time I've listened too an audio book. I really enjoyed 'reading' a book this way,