Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.89

Buy Now for £22.89

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Indies Today 2020 Best Fantasy Award

The world will change forever....

While preparing for the birth of his first child, Chrys Valerian is tasked with uncovering the group responsible for a series of missing threadweavers - those able to see and manipulate threadlight. With each failure, the dark voice in his head grows louder, begging to be released.

A young girl from a secret city in the center of the Fairenwild veers off course to explore the streets of Alchea, never expecting that her journey would end in chains.

Far in the deserts to the south, a young man's life changes after he dies.

When Chrys learns who is responsible for the missing threadweavers, they come for him and his family. He must do everything in his power to protect those he loves, even if it means trusting strangers or, worse, the growing voice in his mind.

Together, these three will change the world - whether they intend to or not.

SPFBO Award Finalist for Best Fantasy Book 2020

©2020 Zack Argyle (P)2020 Zack Argyle

More from the same

What listeners say about Voice of War

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

what a tale!

loved it. some of the best dialogue I've ever encountered. just fantastic! the story feels fresh and is incredibly well told by a fantastic narrator

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

Was enjoyable enough but story never really clicked with me. Have to say although quite good the narrator was very heavy on the gravitas, with most lines delivered with solemn reverence. This equally amused and irritated me. But don’t regret using a credit on this book

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A great story and a great narrator

It certainly wears it's influences on it's sleeve but none the less was a very enjoyable listen. The story felt like it wanted to be much grander than the runtime would allow but can be forgiven for a first book in a series. Other than a small lull after the intro it was well paced and thankfully the extra POVs only added to this rather than dragging to a halt. Plenty of mysteries yet to uncover so looking forward to more!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent debut - Incredible narration!

I loved this story and look forward to continuing!

The narration is fantastic!I would recommend the audiobook!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Threading

That's was just brilliant, the Magic system is absolutely phenomenal, three individuals will come together and change the world, Chrys Valerian is a treadweaver, he wife is due their first child, when tasked with finding out what happened to missing threadweavers, magic users who can see and manipulate threadlight he uncovers a young girl from the Fernenwild held by the by the blood thieves and helps her escape, But Chrys isn't just any threadweaver, a voice in his head has been lying dormant and when he fails to catch the blood thieves, the dark voice is getting louder and needs releasing, when Chrys learns who is responsible for the missing threadweavers, his best friend and fellow soldier, they come for him and his family, while his wife is giving birth to their son, He must do everything in his power to protect those he loves, even if it means trusting strangers or, worse, the growing voice in his mind, with the help of a priest they escape to the Ferenwild, their son may just be the savior to the world if they can keep him alive, if you haven't read this already, I highly recommend you do, the characters, plot and setting will have you glued from start to finish, 5 bloody stars....😁

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great first entry to an interesting series

To be honest I was hooked after 1.5 chapters. Loved (most of) the characters. They are well written and interesting. They all have a well-defined place in the world and we are just "thrown in the middle" of their lives. I really appreciate that one of the main characters is married and we get to see his and his family's journey.
The magic system is great. It reminded me of Brandon Sanderson's magic systems. It is an already established system that the characters know and use and we learn about it as we go. The plot is also interesting and fast paced.
My only issue with the book was that it was too short so world building and character development are limited. There were certain things I wouldn't have minded knowing more about. It definitely feels like an introduction to a grand story. The ending leaves you with more questions than it answered so I am really looking forward to diving into the next installment.

I feel like I need to mention the narrator. His character voices are great and I loved them. But his narrator voice is....breathy (for lack of a better word) which makes everything sounds sooooo dramatic. I listened on 1.20x and it was ok but still noticeable.

All in all great book! Highly recommend!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for HeyJack
  • HeyJack
  • 18-04-22

good story

i had some trouble in the beginning getting into this one...but when everything finally clicked i loved it. very goodstory. cant wait to start book 2

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christopher Russell
  • Christopher Russell
  • 09-12-21

Fans of Brandon Sanderson, I give you Zack Argyle

Voice of War by Zack Argyle on Audible - 4.5/5 Stars

Fans of Brandon Sanderson, I give you Zack Argyle.

Voice of War is a novel that hinges on its incredible magic system, a combination of Allomancy from Mistborn and the eye color caste system of The Stormlight Archive. Threadweaving is everything in the nation Alchea. If you are born a sapphire or emerald Threadweaver, you'll experience a life of prestige and opportunity. If you aren't, you can still get by, but it will be far more difficult.

Chrys Valerian, a high general of Alchea and sapphire Threadweaver, is preparing for the birth of his first child. But something is rotten in the state of Alchea. Blood thieves have been kidnapping Threadweavers, draining their blood, and selling what they take on the black market. This is a direct affront to Alchea's power structure, and Chrys is tasked with bringing the thieves to heel.

What he discovers during the course of his investigation will change how Threadweaving is viewed forever.

I thoroughly enjoyed my time with Voice of War. Chrys is a voice we don't often see in epic fantasy, that of a soon-to-be father approaching middle age. He fears for his wife and coming child, worries about the state of his country, and wonders when the mistakes of his past will catch up with him. Plus the spirit in his head is superbly rendered by the talented Adam Gold, a masterful narrator who will be lending his silky tones to Divinity's Twilight next year.

Our other POVs, youthful Laurel and jaded Alverax, are equally delightful. I wondered if introducing Alverax near the halfway mark would result in uneven pacing, but his scenes accelerated the plot and I enjoyed every instant I spent listening to his glib tongue.

Also, by all accounts the sequel is even better than the original. I look forward to diving in as soon as I can.

PS - Did I mention Voice of War was a finalist for the Self-Published Fantasy Blog Off (SPFBO) Best Book of 2020? Get it NOW!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 28-09-21

Good fantasy story, easy to follow, one critique

Really enjoyed this book, I'll definitely pick up the next one. Super easy to follow, I didn't have to do mental gymnastics to keep up with it which was a really welcome change of pace. the one issue I had was that the magic system was lifted directly from Mistborn and Lightbringer.