Regular price: £21.29

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Twenty-four-year-old truck stop waitress and single mother Catherine Wright has simple goals: to give her five-year-old daughter a happy life and to never again be the talk of the town in Balsam, Pennsylvania (population 3,000 outside of tourist season).

And then one foggy night, on a lonely road back from another failed date, Catherine saves a man's life. It isn't until after the police have arrived that Catherine realizes exactly who it is she has rescued: Brett Madden, hockey icon and media darling.

Catherine has already had her 15 minutes of fame, and the last thing she wants is to have her past dragged back into the spotlight, only this time on a national stage. So she hides her identity. It works. For a time.

But when she finds the man she saved standing on her doorstep, desperate to thank her, all that changes. There's an immediate connection, and it's more electric than the bond of two people who endured a traumatic event. It's something neither of them expected. Something that Catherine isn't sure she can handle; something she is afraid to trust.

Because how long can an extraordinary man like Brett be interested in an ordinary woman like Catherine...before the spark fades?

©2017 Kathleen Tucker. All rights reserved. (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful story

What a beautiful and heartwarming story. I couldn’t stop listening to this audiobook. Day and night. Every spare second I’ve had, I’ve been glued to listening.
It’s not the normal type of story I’d go for but there was something that just made me give it a go. Whatever it was, I’m so very glad.
Definitely worth a read or listen to.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • kathy
  • 30-06-17

To Save a Stranger

I have read most of the author's books and she has always chosen her narrators well. I was disappointed with this narrator. I believe the audio version of this book would have had a different feel with the perfect narrator. I should have read this book. This is a feel-good story about a young woman who is strong willed and passionate about what she believes.She saves a man from a burning car wreck and her life as she has known it, changes in ways that fight with her personal beliefs. The author does a good job letting the reader feel this young woman's pain about her past as she is put in the spotlight. For fans of K A Tucker, I would recommend reading this one.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Erin Griffith
  • 29-08-17

Sad? Depressed? Need a happy ending?

This is your book. Let's just say that you have had a rough day, you have pms, and you just watched (or read) a story about puppies with diseases, starving children, or the sad state of our environment and you just can't stop crying. This book is a positive breath of fresh air. Blatantly and non apologetically a Cinderella story. It was the pick me up that I needed and it will be for you too!! The main characters are well developed and easy to connect with.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Alexis B
  • 10-07-17

there slow burn and then theres long and drawn out

this book focused on the back story and the real story was hardly even a part of the book. im not sure if the point of this book was whoa is me finally get a guy or what would have been a cute couple that needs way more story and details has a huge back round that i dont care about. they really were sweet together, u just didnt get it intil like 70% in.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Quippygirl
  • 01-07-17

Liked the story

What three words best describe Shayna Thibodeaux’s performance?

I don't have 3 words. I thought that her voice sounded too old for the main character and that she did a much better job of voicing the secondary characters.

Any additional comments?

I enjoyed the story but found the (main character) narration distracting. It took me a while to get into it but once I did, I was able to overlook my issue with the narration.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sarah Camargo
  • 29-06-17

Addicting

I love this author. This book was different from her other books but no less awesome. I love when there are kids in books and I fell in love with this one so easily. If you are looking for low angst and a great story then this is the book for you.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 14-07-17

Disappointed

It started slow, but then got more interesting, but the ending left much to be desired.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mary Ann De Barbieri
  • 09-08-18

Wonderful listen!

I loved this book!! Characters well drawn, interesting story and excellent narration. I look forward to listening or reading more from KA Tucker!!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Renee
  • 08-08-18

Liked, not LOVED

3.5 Stars. I liked it. I didn't LOVE it, but I did like it. I did find some of it a little repetitive, and would have maybe preferred an ending with a little more details into the future. While it was somewhat predictable, I still couldn't get enough. I felt like I lived in Balsam and experienced everything first hand. In fact, my favorite thing about this book wasn't necessarily the romance, it was the fact that a single mom doing what she could to stand on her own two feet and always putting her daughter first got her HEA. There are many aspects to Catherine's life that I found to be very relatable. If you want a light summer read, I would recommend it!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • TD Lawyer
  • 13-11-17

Sweet story - quick listen

I really enjoyed this book. It was a quick and fairly light listen, although it contained more substance than most chick-lit books. I appreciate K.A. Tucker's writing style and her ability to fully develop the characters. This was a bit of a departure from her "10 Tiny Breaths" series, but entertaining nonetheless.

My only criticism is that I wish there had been a bit more story development around the Catherine / Scott relationship after his return to Balsam. I feel there was missed opportunity for some drama in this area. Unless this particular story is to continue in a sequel, I was disappointed with the ending. It left a few loose ends and story opportunities on the table.

AUDIBLE 20 REVIEW SWEEPSTAKES ENTRY

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Sara Hockers
  • 10-10-17

Starts out slow but....

Starts out painfully slow but then gets really good. You need to stick with it.