Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

"Gail writes with humour, heart and passion." (Giovanna Fletcher, Sunday Times number one best-selling author)

Includes exclusive audio commentary from Gail straight from her trail experience

Gail Muller was told she’d be in a wheelchair by the age of 40. At 41, she set out to hike one of the world’s toughest treks: the Appalachian Trail - a 2,200-mile journey that would help her reclaim her life and heal her mind and body. An inspiring, moving, and uplifting memoir for fans of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love

As Gail took her first steps through the wilderness of the USA, she had no idea what lay ahead of her, but she knew she felt burnout from city life, lost and broken - ready to heal a mind and body that she had battled with for so long. 

From the resilience-building mountain climbs, painful injuries, and harsh reality of braving the raw elements, to the unexpected friendships forged with other hikers and the kindness of strangers offering food and shelter - with every step, Gail started to let go of a past dominated by chronic pain and reconnected with herself in a way she’d never been able to before. 

A love letter to the healing power of the wild outdoors and an incredible testament to the strength of the human spirit, Gail’s story is for anyone who has ever felt stuck in a rut, lost, or scared. She shows us that even in our darkest times, it’s possible to find our inner grit, face our fears, and feel hopeful.

©2021 Gail Muller (P)2021 Thread, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Unlost

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unmissable

Gail has gone through some traumatic experiences in life before this adventure. She has also suffered pain without diagnosis for many years. She spoke to my very sole in her description of chronic illness. During her hike along the Appalachian Trail in North America she confronts her experiences with absolutely brutal honesty and discovers strengths she never knew she had. You don’t need to be into walking in the woods to be enthralled by this book which reveals a life journey of discovering what really matters when the chips are down. I loved the book and feel sure I will read it again

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Everything I wanted...

If you enjoy stories of the landscapes of the USA, physical and mental challenges, the perils of dating, and an understanding that you never know what terrible things someone else has been through, you will enjoy this. Gail is lovely. The actual recordings from the trail that feature are a really special touch (go find her Instagram and see the photos from the hike).

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

More books please

Having a few friends who’ve walked the PCT and the CDT trail Gail and her book tipped my interest. The openness in her writing shows such strength. You’ll be rooting for her all the way.
Gail is a natural narrator. A lovely and empowering listen. Really hope there will be more to come.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bloody loved it

Not your usual outdoorsy memoir, this made me think, on occasion chop some onions, and feel inspired. The gentle (and never unkind) poking of fun at both herself and others adds humour to some interesting, sometimes bizarre and sometimes moving experiences. Please read it!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Heather H.
  • Heather H.
  • 14-10-21

Excellent!

I listen to a LOT of books. I listen to a good number of backpacking travel journal type books as well. I honestly think this is the best one I’ve ever listened to. It’s incredibly well written and engaging. I normally do not care for the author to also narrate but in this case it truly made for the best experience. I’m looking forward to following Gail on her next adventures!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Libby Samples
  • Libby Samples
  • 17-10-21

Very inspiring

Gail has taken us along her journey through the AT that many of us may never take . Her wit, humility and ability to express herself kept me captivated . She has overcome much and is most definitely a warrior in my eyes

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for trinity
  • trinity
  • 23-09-21

Just get this book

Loved this journey a lot the AT I’ve read and listened to tons of stories on the AT but the strength and courage Gail us is awe inspiring I couldn’t stop reading. It made me want to start planning my own adventure!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Irischick
  • Irischick
  • 16-09-21

Awesome!

Awesome Awesome Awesome!! Loved this inspirational book - what a great life attitude woman! Thank you for sharing this wonderful hike with us.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sparrow22
  • Sparrow22
  • 11-09-21

Captivating story of grit and determination

I loved everything about this courageous and personal book and truly didn't want it to end. Ms. Muller's narration adds so much to the tone of the book I can't imagine reading it and not hearing her voice.

She takes the reader deep into a world of through-hiking that most have not previously encountered and by the end of the book, we don't want to leave. In learning about the joys and the pitfalls of her life on the AppalachianTrail, I uncovered new aspects of my own.

A must-read for anyone considering hiking the Appalachian Trail.