Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Yard

  • How a Horse Healed My Heart
  • By: Grace Olson
  • Narrated by: Frankie Porter
  • Length: 9 hrs and 58 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Yard cover art

The Yard

By: Grace Olson
Narrated by: Frankie Porter
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Ambition cover art
Grabbing Mane cover art
Only Heroes and Horses cover art
Rescuing Rosie cover art
Miracle cover art
Gold cover art
Horse Brain, Human Brain cover art
Bright, Broken Things cover art
There Must Be Horses cover art
Where There's Muck cover art
The Eighty-Dollar Champion cover art
Horse People cover art
The Lost Pony of Riverdale cover art
The Ride of Her Life cover art
Blind Beauty cover art
My Farming Life cover art

Summary

The comical tales of a new mum on her journey from postnatal depression to the dawning of her self-worth as she discovers adventure, friendship, and the healing power of horses.

Join Grace as she battles her negative thought patterns and fears among a backdrop of eccentric characters, pampered farm animals, and the glorious Yorkshire countryside.

Wisdom comes from unexpected sources leading Grace to a psychological and spiritual awakening of the true meaning of motherhood. While an elderly, opinionated pony teaches her how to love her daughter, a scary young sports horse teaches her how to relax and enjoy life again. Just watch out for the goats....

For fans of James Herriot and Ruby Ferguson’s Jill books, The Yard is a hilarious and heartwarming, feel-good listen.

©2022 Grace Olson (P)2022 Three Sisters Media Ltd

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Transform your day

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Listen everywhere

Listen everywhere

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Carry your entire Library

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Listen and learn

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Reach your reading goals

Reach your reading goals

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Find your niche

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for £0.00 £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

What listeners say about The Yard

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

5* I Love this book!

The Yard is a real, down-to-earth story that captured my heart from the beginning.

There is a rich cast of characters, each one absolutely brilliant. The narrator's performance was outstanding - I hope she reads the next book, "The Farm".

I was completely invested in Grace's journey, and I was genuinely sad when the book ended. In fact, I immediately started listening again to rejoin the girls!

Thank you, Grace, for sharing your story with the world.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!

Really enjoyed this book, a must read for horse lovers. Am upset that I’ve finished it and really hope Grace writes another one!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!