Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Zoe fainted on her wedding day, and she never knew why. She’s always felt sure something bad happened. Ten years later, she’s going to find out what....

It was supposed to be the happiest day of her life. Zoe was sitting in her hotel room, in her perfect white dress, looking forward to the moment when she would make kind, handsome Toby her husband. 

Then, there was a blank. 

They said she must have fainted, overcome with emotion. But nothing felt quite right afterward. Did something happen in that missing time? 

Now, Toby and Zoe have two beautiful children and a perfect life. They’re planning their 10-year anniversary party for their family and friends. The invitations have been sent, the food ordered. They’re going back to the grand hotel where they got married. 

But as the anniversary gets closer, it becomes clear not everyone is looking forward to celebrating. She catches Toby lying about where he’s been. One of her best friends seems to be ignoring her. And someone is spreading stories that might stop the party from happening at all. 

Zoe is increasingly sure that she doesn’t have the full story. But does she want to know the truth if it will destroy everything? 

From the million-copy best-selling author, this totally gripping psychological thriller will have you hooked to the last jaw-dropping twist. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl, and The Wife Between Us. 

©2020 Shalini Boland (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Wife

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    222
  • 4 Stars
    123
  • 3 Stars
    73
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    18
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    249
  • 4 Stars
    88
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    10
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    197
  • 4 Stars
    90
  • 3 Stars
    66
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    29

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fantastic

another brilliant book by this author enjoyed it , really didn't see the ending coming

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The wife....

Ab love all of Shalini Boland books, this isn’t her best , but still v enjoyable, as with her previous books, from the first page, I’m pulled in, and an engaged till the end
Good story and interesting ending
Author is great at keeping you guessing and never predictable ending!
Can’t wait for the next Shalini Boland novel- please keep them coming👍👍😉

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Wife

Wow Wow Wow you have to read this book amazing, I loved it from the first page, the narrator was amazing i love her voice just loved the book it has everything awesome just awesome

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good listen

I enjoyed this book whilst spending time waiting for some health related news. It provided some light, absorbing listening. The story kept me guessing about how it would be resolved with regard to the sister and why it was titled The Wife.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sensational

Fantastic book. You're the best Shalini Boland. Looking forward to my next book. Thank you.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I couldn’t stop listening to this

This was a wonderful book with a fantastic twist! Definitely worth a read, good narration too.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

the wife

best one yet, and I've read lots by this author. couldn't stop listening, Katie Villa is a brilliant narrator

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely loved this book

There are no shalini Boland that I don’t love and I love Katie villa as the narrator she reads so well and it a pleasure to listen to , the story is a slow builder but erupts into an unstoppable book I loved it infact I’ll listen to it again I’m sure of that

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Too far-fetched

I enjoyed the first three quarters until the climax that required a lot of my patience to accept it as feasible. I was very disappointed in the end and kept playing it only to get to the end and not leave it hanging. Excellent performance.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good listen with unexpected ending

Easy to follow and a great listen
Will follow the author in the future
Marvellous

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for littlesimone
  • littlesimone
  • 10-09-20

A Quiet Yet Intriguing Read

This is the first book that I have ever read from this author and I have to say that I rather enjoyed it. It was quiet in nature yet steady in pace with an interesting plot. Although the protagonist was a bit more naïve than is believable, I found myself very much in her head, as it were, and sympathizing with her thought process. I don't know why but I kept picturing Emily Blunt portraying the protagonist. Not that I regularly envision books as movies but I could see this one made into a screenplay. It held my attention and I listened to straight through which is rare for me. Well done!

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ida
  • Ida
  • 12-03-21

Huh?

Excellent narration. The back story from 10 yrs ago was helpful in understanding this story. Switching between the past and present resulted in the story staying interesting throughout. One reviewer referred to the main character, Zoe as naive, etc. In my opinion, she was not. She was a strong woman and and attentive mother. Zoe was a hard worker who investigated and responded to issues as much as she could. She was not aware of the extent of the duplicity surrounding her. The listeners cruise along until the last 5 or so chapters. Be careful not to get whiplash with how quickly things change and start moving forward. My mouth dropped open as we were heading towards the conclusion. All I can say is “wow, didn’t see that coming”.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for N. Shaw
  • N. Shaw
  • 25-10-20

Lies, deceit, betrayal REPEAT!

Rating: 4 🍷 🍷 🍷 🍷 !!!!!!!
Book: The Wife
Available NOW -Release Date: September 9, 2020
Author: Shalini Boland
Genre: Thrillers, Mystery, Suspense
 
The Wife is a book packed with secrets, betrayal, and mystery. I felt for the main character Zoe. The story follows her as she is planning her 10-year wedding anniversary. Only thing is, ten years prior, on her wedding day, something happens, and she cannot remember. As the day gets closer, she realizes something bad happened and the people she love may hold the key.
There are hardly any redeemable characters in this book besides Zoe and maybe one other. With the betrayal, lies, and coverups, I just wanted Zoe to lash out at everyone. Boland gives you just a peek chapter after chapter to keep you reading to see what actually happened on that fated wedding day. There were small twists and reveals that tied up the story in a nice little package. I can say that at the very end, one character made me want to shake the life out of her which I think was probably the desired feeling from Boland. I am interested in checking out more of her stuff as I liked her writing style.  

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lisa
  • lisa
  • 05-10-20

kept me entertained

Kept me entertained but was not on the edge of my seat. I did enjoy the characters and the story flowed well. To me the aha moment was not large or intriguing but it was written well.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kali Goddard
  • Kali Goddard
  • 25-11-20

Way too far fetched, even for me.

Couldn't connect with the plot or the characters, because of how unrealistic the whole story was.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rhonda M. Johnson
  • Rhonda M. Johnson
  • 30-10-20

Great book

great book, surprising ending keeps you guessing and intrigued. Enjoy........good bookclub read...what would you do

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carol Mitchell
  • Carol Mitchell
  • 23-05-21

pure drivel

The narrator was OK, but I hope she was well paid to read such an uninspired "story". Tired old theme of "best friend/sibling betrayal" and the main character such a self-doubting lump that it was just frustrating to listen to. I actually got through to chapter 15, and then gave up and jumped ahead to find out what happened. Never will pick up another book by this author.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rhonda Madison
  • Rhonda Madison
  • 29-12-20

Nothing is as it seems

This is a very intriguing suspenseful story. Lost memories are dangerous when they start to return for Zoe. I couldn't stop listening. The epilogue was very chilling. Kate Villa does a great narration. I'm looking forward to more books by Shalini Boland.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angela R.
  • Angela R.
  • 18-06-21

Excellent

Loved it! Kept me engaged with an unsuspecting twist at the end! I would recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lafe Sion
  • Lafe Sion
  • 21-05-21

Slow at start and then predictable twist

Parents go to lengths to protect their children. But in the end, crime never pays.