Listen free for 30 days

The Wife

An Unputdownable Psychological Thriller with a Breathtaking Twist
Narrated by: Katie Villa
Length: 8 hrs and 5 mins
4 out of 5 stars (19 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Zoe fainted on her wedding day, and she never knew why. She’s always felt sure something bad happened. Ten years later, she’s going to find out what....

It was supposed to be the happiest day of her life. Zoe was sitting in her hotel room, in her perfect white dress, looking forward to the moment when she would make kind, handsome Toby her husband. 

Then, there was a blank. 

They said she must have fainted, overcome with emotion. But nothing felt quite right afterward. Did something happen in that missing time? 

Now, Toby and Zoe have two beautiful children and a perfect life. They’re planning their 10-year anniversary party for their family and friends. The invitations have been sent, the food ordered. They’re going back to the grand hotel where they got married. 

But as the anniversary gets closer, it becomes clear not everyone is looking forward to celebrating. She catches Toby lying about where he’s been. One of her best friends seems to be ignoring her. And someone is spreading stories that might stop the party from happening at all. 

Zoe is increasingly sure that she doesn’t have the full story. But does she want to know the truth if it will destroy everything? 

From the million-copy best-selling author, this totally gripping psychological thriller will have you hooked to the last jaw-dropping twist. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl, and The Wife Between Us. 

©2020 Shalini Boland (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Wife

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Wife

Wow Wow Wow you have to read this book amazing, I loved it from the first page, the narrator was amazing i love her voice just loved the book it has everything awesome just awesome

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The wife-wouldn’t recommend

I found the story so predictable and the narrator grating. It was just very..... basic. More like a holiday read when you have kids to contend with so can’t pay too much attention. I couldn’t wait for it to finish! I listen while running and it made every mile feel like 3! Can’t wait to start the next one-fingers crossed its better!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The wife....

Ab love all of Shalini Boland books, this isn’t her best , but still v enjoyable, as with her previous books, from the first page, I’m pulled in, and an engaged till the end
Good story and interesting ending
Author is great at keeping you guessing and never predictable ending!
Can’t wait for the next Shalini Boland novel- please keep them coming👍👍😉

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Too far-fetched

I enjoyed the first three quarters until the climax that required a lot of my patience to accept it as feasible. I was very disappointed in the end and kept playing it only to get to the end and not leave it hanging. Excellent performance.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for littlesimone
  • littlesimone
  • 10-09-20

A Quiet Yet Intriguing Read

This is the first book that I have ever read from this author and I have to say that I rather enjoyed it. It was quiet in nature yet steady in pace with an interesting plot. Although the protagonist was a bit more naïve than is believable, I found myself very much in her head, as it were, and sympathizing with her thought process. I don't know why but I kept picturing Emily Blunt portraying the protagonist. Not that I regularly envision books as movies but I could see this one made into a screenplay. It held my attention and I listened to straight through which is rare for me. Well done!

6 people found this helpful