Listen free for 30 days

The Vanishing Tourist

Cherringham. A Cosy Crime Series - Mystery Shorts 18
Narrated by: Neil Dudgeon
Length: 2 hrs and 23 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (42 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

When an American tourist goes missing in Cherringham, the local police don't see reason for concern - people often wander away from such tours. But when that tourist's sister shows up from New York, desperately looking for answers, Jack and Sarah become convinced there's more to the disappearance than meets the eye. Soon, they are entangled in a mystery with a secret history of betrayal, sacrifice, dishonor... and death.

Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick listen for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa.

For fans of Agatha Christie's "Miss Marple" series, Lilian Jackson Braun's "The Cat Who" series, Caroline Graham's "Midsomer Murders", and the American TV series "Murder She Wrote", starring Angela Lansbury.

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90's, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, Nintendo to name but a few. Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series "Cherringham".

The narrator of the audiobook, Neil Dudgeon, has been in many British television programmes including the roles of DCI John Barnaby in "Midsomer Murders" and Jim Riley in "The Life of Riley".
©2017 Bastei Lübbe (Lübbe Audio) (P)2017 Lübbe Audio

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great mystery - strong story.

Perhaps the strongest story yet in this series. A great sense of mystery and a gripping conclusion. Great stuff.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Cherringham continues

Wonderful 18th book. Really enjoyable throughout. Really enjoy Neil Dudgeon narrating. Looking forward as always to the next book.
Recommend the Cherringham series

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Diana
  • Diana
  • 15-04-18

Returning - already purchased in 16 - 18 grouping

One thing I wish Audible would work on is the way titles are listed - please use same first word when possible for a series - and why sell 16, 17, and 18 as a group and also break them apart and sell separately?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for tpalyn
  • tpalyn
  • 24-01-18

The vanishing tourist

I did not want this to end. This is the last of many books focusing in Cherringham,England.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LOVETOQUILT
  • LOVETOQUILT
  • 22-06-19

Super

Well written as always. Wonderfully read by Mr Dudgeon ... the perfect voice for Jack!!Thanks for a great series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Verna
  • Verna
  • 15-11-18

Great series

Loved this Series. Great entertainment - short stories - great narrator. Hope that more are written. Have listened to everyone ofthen!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan H. Wolfe
  • Jan H. Wolfe
  • 31-03-18

A wonderful series of quiet mysteries .

I love this series of short mystery stories, easy listening. The narrator is wonderful, with a slightly gravelly voice that, too, is easy listening.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marily
  • Marily
  • 18-03-18

Very cosy Cosy.

This story takes place in a quiet English village, and farming area. It has no big murder, nor rushing folk. There is no wierdo or witch, just normal folk. A story ...an incident took place in Afghanistan which had repercussions years afterwards.