Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £13.19

Buy Now for £13.19

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.


This superb collection of nine detective stories focuses on the police procedural genre where crime investigation takes on a sense of reality. Written by masters of the genre, these classic stories include: "Death Makes a Comeback" by James O'Keefe, "Squealer" by John D. MacDonald, "Jode's Last Hunt" by Brian Garfield, "The Man in the Red Flannel Suit" by Jan Grape, "The Vanishing Men" by Edward D. Hoch, "A Contest Fit for a Queen" by Susan Dunlap, "Chee's Witch" by Tony Hillerman, "Ghost Station" by Carolyn Wheat, and "J" by Ed McBain. Edited by Martin Greenberg.

Full cast of narrators includes William Sanderson and Shauna Zurbrugg.

©1999 Martin Greenberg (P)1999, 2017 Audio Literature / Phoenix Books

What listeners say about The Vanishing Men

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.