Listen free for 30 days

The Truth

Discworld, Book 25
Narrated by: Stephen Briggs
Series: Discworld: Industrial Revolution, Book 2, Discworld, Book 25
Length: 10 hrs and 23 mins
5 out of 5 stars (1,854 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

William de Worde is the accidental editor of Discworld's first newspaper. Now he must cope with the traditional perils of a journalist's life - people who want him dead, a recovering vampire with a suicidal fascination for flash photography, some more people who want him dead in a different way and, worst of all, the man who keeps begging him to publish pictures of his humorously shaped potatoes.William just wants to get to the truth. Unfortunately, everyone else wants to get at William. And it's only the third edition....

This is the 25th volume in the Discworld series. 

Please note: This is a vintage recording. The audio quality may not be up to modern day standards.

©2000 Terry and Lyn Pratchett (P)2000 Isis Publishing Ltd.

Critic reviews

"Pratchett's brand of humor has intelligence and satiric relevance...he has much to say about the world." (Publishers Weekly)
"Unadulterated fun...Witty, frequently hilarious." (San Francisco Chronicle)

What members say
Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,527
  • 4 Stars
    282
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,204
  • 4 Stars
    220
  • 3 Stars
    45
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,233
  • 4 Stars
    210
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

In the unlikely event you've never read Pratchett

I wasn't going to review Terry Pratchett's Discworld books, simply because he is such a well known author that everyone already knows that this book, like all the Discworld books, will be funny, imaginative and have everything you want in it to keep you coming back and re-reading year after year. Most Audible listeners also know that all the main narrators that read Pratchett's books (Stephen Briggs, Nigel Planer and Tony Robinson) are all amazing, bringing the book and it's characters to life in a way that earns their five star reviews.

If you are actually a new listener on the other-hand this might really help.

Firstly despite the order they were written in my suggestion would be to start with the guards series. Pratchett has developed a complicated world with several in jokes and this is an easy way to enter it, as the books introduce the reader to the main city from which much of the action takes place. The guards series is arguably one of the most popular and after the first book has a strong cast of both male and female characters. I should warn that some of the other series' books are set before the events in the Watch novels but I still found this the most accessible way, into this vast fictional world.

The order of the guards books are Guards Guards, Men at Arms, Feet Of Clay, Jingo, The Fifth Elephant, Night watch, Thud and Snuff (there are also spin off books that are mentioned in the series). From there you can either start reading the witches novels if you prefer female leads, Rincewind if you prefer male or stay in the city with some of what are often refer to as the `industrial' novels like The Truth, Going Postal and Making Money. Guides to reading order can easily be found on the net if you don't want to go by publication date.

I would also think twice before buying the abridged versions. Tony Robinson as a narrator is brilliant but so are the other narrators and a lot of the plot and humor is cut to fit so much into such a short time. I've listened to most of them and I'd personally go with unabridged every time.

23 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Pratchett in top form

I am a fan of Terry Pratchett novels and am amazed at how prolific he is while maintaining the quality of his output. This is one of his better recent efforts. Pratchett's books always have one or two inspired comic ideas and this one is no exception. It is worth reading for the vampire photographer with flash-photography issues alone. Well worth a listen if you like quirky humour in the vein of Douglas Adams and Robert Rankin.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Discworld story

Another great story of the discworld. I've read them all, and am working through the audio books during long journeys. Love Pratchett's work and after the older Tony Robinson ones this is my favourite narrator.



The Guards stories are my preference and this is a great one. Would recommend the story to those new to or totally familiar with the Discworld

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

Good story, read well as always. Besides its criminal detective element, content is also educational about news making in a funny and lighthearted way.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

***ing brilliant

Mt Tulip and Mr Pin, The New Firm, Millenium Hand and Shrimp I told 'em! Now my favouite Discworld book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

the truth

one of the best books from sir terry pratchett colection of the disk world stories

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Terry at his best!

I love this novel! Terry introduces William Deworda, and the start of the press in . the usual mix of lord vetinary, the watch and the wizards, trolls and Dwarfs. I love the use of the vampire as an iconographer. it is like coming home to your family, to be able keep up with the chacters as they grow throughout the series. this one of my favorites and I own them all.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great As Ever

Another Pratchett stonker that still perfectly mirrors a section of non-discworld life. Performed well but it sounds as if it were recorded on a Dictaphone. still well worth it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

What can I say, I’m a hopeless fan!
However if you want something more useful these are my headline thoughts:
- this book came at a stage in the Discworld series where TP had fully evolved his character arcs and in particular the cultural & political flavour and humour of Ank Morpork.
- if you haven’t done Discworld before I recommend you start with something earlier in the series, like Guards Guards or Mort. Then you’ll get the flavours with more explanation, helping your journey into this amazing series!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent

great listening, thoroughly enjoyable, have listened and read all of Mr Pratchetts book and I'm a fan, an this is really worth the listen.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M van Reekum
  • M van Reekum
  • 19-05-20

No chapters

I liked narrator Nigel Planet better and this book doesn’t have chapters which makes getting back to the part where I fell asleep very hard.
The story is still great anyhow.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 29-09-19

always great

Pratchett is always great and Stephen Briggs is an amazing narrator. loved every second of it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 26-08-19

very fun

I loved it :) funny, interesting and sometimes moving. Terry Pratchett makes me happy and Stephen Briggs is great to listen to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr N A Cox
  • Mr N A Cox
  • 20-07-19

The reader really captured the Discworld atmospher

A classic Terry Pratchett, really well read. All the characters came across just the way I imagined them, even Gaspode the dog.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 28-08-18

one of the better Ankh-Morepork based stories.

Great line up of old favourite characters. Fun storyline, some clever twists and, as always, an insightful take on a theme- in this case the portrayal of the truth

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rob van Geloven
  • Rob van Geloven
  • 04-01-18

Good story, bad audio quality

Bad audio quality puts a bit of a damper on it all. Stephen Briggs is a good voice actor, but the low audio quality combined with varying levels of volume makes it hard to understand sometimes when driving

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maritta Helten
  • Maritta Helten
  • 22-12-18

Sprecher - not my cup of tea

ich liebe die Scheibenwelt aber den Sprecher kann ich nicht ertragen. Dazu Sprünge in der Aufnahme