Listen free for 30 days

The Thirty-Nine Steps

Richard Hannay 1
Narrated by: Adrian Praetzellis
Series: Richard Hannay, Book 1
Length: 4 hrs and 18 mins

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime


"The Thirty Nine Steps" is an adventure novel by the Scottish author John Buchan. It first appeared as a serial in Blackwood's Magazine in August and September 1915 before being published in book form in October that year by William Blackwood and Sons, Edinburgh.

It is the first of five novels featuring Richard Hannay, an all action hero with a stiff upper lip and a miraculous knack for getting himself out of sticky situations.

The novel formed the basis for a number of film adaptations, notably: Alfred Hitchcock's 1935 version; a 1959 colour remake; a 1978 version which is perhaps most faithful to the novel; and a 2008 version for British television.
©2017 SAGA Egmont (P)2017 SAGA Egmont

What listeners say about The Thirty-Nine Steps

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NICHOLAS B.
  • 20-02-18

great book a little slow

I enjoyed the story but I believe I sped the reading up to 1.35 so that it was a bit more fluid