Listen free for 30 days

The Things You Find in Rockpools

Narrated by: Mark Sanderlin
Series: Rockpools, Book 1
Length: 10 hrs and 28 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (121 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

When a tourist girl disappears on a vacation island - and the police investigation goes nowhere - 11-year-old local boy Billy Wheatley steps in to help.

He’s a little young to play detective, and he can’t tell anyone what he’s up to. But he's kind of a child prodigy, or at least, he thinks he is. Either way, he’s got a very good reason to want the police off his beach.

His style of investigation is unlike anything you’ve ever heard of before, but he gets results. Until the trail of clues leads uncomfortably close to home. Here, Billy begins to sense just how much danger he’s really in. And how the life he thought he was living hides a much darker truth. Because, the person who took the girl isn’t just someone he knows - it’s the only person he thought he could trust.

If Billy has any chance of bringing his adversary to justice - or even staying alive - he’s going to need every ounce of his unique ingenuity.

But how do you catch a killer when you're just a kid?

The Things You Find in Rockpools is the first in the USA and UK Amazon best-selling series with over 100,000 copies sold and thousands of international five-star reviews. Perfect for fans of L.J. Ross, Adam Croft, KL Slater, and anyone who loves a gripping and utterly engrossing crime thriller.  

©2018 Gregg Dunnett (P)2018 Gregg Dunnett

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    59
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

narrator is annoying with mispronounced words.

story started off ok, but became a clichéd sexist load of rubbish. really disappointing and the narrator kept mispronouncing words like buoy and shone. I thought this was written by a British author so don't understand the American narrator choice.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant

a really good story. slightly slow at first but gripping after that, finished listening to it in 2 days.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Loved the story

Great story, well narrated. Ending felt a bit rushed though. I'd like to better understand the motives and psychological state of the killer. Well worth the read though

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Read this whilst on my daily run!

A great read (listen) to take your mind off the boredom of running! I looked forward to my runs and didn't want them to finish. Just the right amount of suspense!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a well written tense thriller.<br />

loved this book. it has several twists and the end had me holding my breath.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent, exciting, a twist in the tale.

This story started off slowly and gathered pace until it was running at breakneck speed towards the end.
The reader Mark was absolutely perfect for this story, a very professional job was done.
I recommend this book for anyone that enjoys an edge of the seat read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Five stars

Loved it couldn't bare to turn it off. Even though I guessed some of the plot it didn't detract from the plot

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fab

Really great book...great storyline... kept me guessing all the way through... and loved Billy... highly recommended.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good twist!

A bit slow to begin with, but soon becomes interesting. A great and unexpected twist to it!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent with a gentle style but gripping too

Satisfying throughout. Easy to stick with. Some surprises and genuinely had me guessing while always entertaining.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lindy
  • Lindy
  • 05-07-18

A great mystery, I really enjoyed it!

This had some great twists and turns that I wasn’t expecting! I thought it was a great story, it definitely kept my interest!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 15-06-18

Suspenseful and Surprising

I was fascinated by Billy’s relationship with his father and the unique family dynamics. Highly encourage reading/listening to Gregg’s work. A fun time. Every time I thought I knew what happened, the story took an adventurous twist. Looking forward to his next work.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 25-07-18

Disappointed

It took forever for the story to start and then everything was suddenly solved in a few sentences. Very disappointed. Almost didn't finish it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Delinda Coleman
  • Delinda Coleman
  • 23-05-20

Awesome entertainment !!

Kept me entertained while doing some deep cleaning. Could not stop listening .A lot of twist and turns ! Expect the unexpected!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. Rifflart
  • S. Rifflart
  • 09-05-20

Really clever, refreshing story

I have read and now listened to this book which is a wonderfully refreshing take on a missing person mystery told mostly through the eyes of an extremely bright 11 year old. This British author knows his stuff when it comes to surfing and describes well the fictional island and the characters that inhabit it. If you like an interesting take on a murder mystery then this is for you

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Flansbury
  • Flansbury
  • 06-05-20

Lots of Twists

Good characters and plot twists with the local as a big character. Ending is a little tidy but otherwise a great listen.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sue S
  • Sue S
  • 25-10-19

I can’t finish this

Nope! Not going to finish. Skimmed through the pages. I think it is cheating to switch perspectives 3/4 of the way through a book. If you start in first person narrative, you should stay in first person narrative. Unless you establish early on that you will be switching. Otherwise, it is just “too convenient” and breaks the writer/reader contract.

I’m still trying to finish. This is the longest, driest narrative I’ve read in a long time. And I used to read Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys. The story is all tell, no show. And I guess I just don’t think like an 11 year old boy, because the rationale behind the investigation seems very flawed. I am not a psychiatrist, but if I had to guess, I would say the main character shows narcissistic tendencies with delusions of grandeur. Lol. Will update if I finish it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Denise Graf
  • Denise Graf
  • 15-10-19

Had Us Hooked

My teenage son and I were HOOKED! We couldn’t wait for the next time we could listen together! And we have the attention span of a squirrel! GREAT JOB DUN ETT!!!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for CBish
  • CBish
  • 06-10-19

Not much of a Thriller

Story was predictable and seemed to go on and on. Characters weren’t that likable which made the story hard to finish for me. This seemed like a story where you could really pull for the young boy but he wasn’t endearing or even all that thoughtful. A few times I wanted to shake the dad and yell “ step up”! 10 hours is a long listen for a not so good story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Endo girl
  • Endo girl
  • 10-09-19

kept you on the edge of your seat

loved it. Couldn't put it down. The story kept you guessing who was guilty. definitely recommend it!