Listen free for 30 days

The Tender Bar

A Memoir
Narrated by: Adam Grupper
Length: 16 hrs
4.5 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The New York Times best seller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man and his romance with a bar.

J. R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J. R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J. R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J. R.'s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice.

At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J. R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar - including J. R.'s uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler - took J. R. to the beach, to ballgames, and, ultimately, into their circle. They taught J. R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering by committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J. R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J. R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak - and, eventually, reality.

In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, The Tender Bar is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it's also a moving portrait of one boy's struggle to become a man and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys.

©2017 J. R. Moehringer (P)2017 Hachette Audio

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kathy stalmach
  • kathy stalmach
  • 30-12-17

The more you read the more you like!

The author and narrator do a great job of making you feel like you are right there in the bar and in the heart of the story ! Loved it and didn’t want it to end

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ilaria Boero
  • Ilaria Boero
  • 01-03-19

Unforgettable

I just finished listening to this book and I think it will stay with me for a long time. one of the most tender, passionate, humble and human story I ever met. Thanks to Andre Agassi for the tip!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JillF
  • JillF
  • 24-01-19

Good, but could have used some editing

I liked this story, but--it fell short, for me, because it went on too long. I didn't care enough about the Bar characters to warrant all of the extra content. I felt like I had the drift of the book long before it ended. But, I still found enjoyment and remember some parts of the book very favorably (such as the relationship between mother and son).

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nate Canavera
  • Nate Canavera
  • 21-07-18

Enjoyable listen!

Miss the characters and story already! You will enjoy it and maybe relate a little too much like I did!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ptowngbrown
  • ptowngbrown
  • 14-03-19

My father recommended, I’m so happy he did...

This book is one of a kind and a truly enjoyable experience. Moehringer’s writing captures every moment beautifully. I felt like I was traveling through time at his side. I’ve recommended this book to several family members, colleagues and friends. It is just wonderful!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful