Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
The Spare Room cover art

The Spare Room

By: Laura Starkey
Narrated by: Fran Burgoyne
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £29.99

Buy Now for £29.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Make or Break at the Lighthouse B & B cover art
The Suite Life cover art
Ex in the City cover art
Enemies to Lovers cover art
The Fixer Upper cover art
Rachel Ryan's Resolutions cover art
Amy Perry's Assumptions cover art
Lean on Me cover art
Where We Belong cover art
Just Do It cover art
Fake It Or Leave It cover art
Holiday Romance cover art
Once Upon a Leap Year cover art
The Matchmaker cover art
The Woman Who Ran Away from Everything cover art
The Wedding of the Year cover art

Summary

Two unexpected flatmates. One shared space. Will they cross the line into love?
Rosie had the perfect evening lined up: she'd come home early, slip into a sexy dress and surprise her boyfriend with date night. What she was not expecting was to find his bags packed and herself unceremoniously dumped.

But she can't even think about her heartbreak when she faces the more pressing matter of making rent this month. And in desperate times, she agrees to let out her spare room to her elusive upstairs neighbour.

Aled needs somewhere to stay while his place is being renovated, and she gets to keep her home. It's a win-win situation... At least in theory.

For Rosie has sworn off men indefinitely, and never saw herself living with one so soon after her breakup. But being in Aled's company day in, day out has this annoying habit of playing havoc with her heart...

On paper they're just flatmates, but could there be room for more between them?

The ultimate forced proximity, slow-burn romcom to get your hands on, for fans of Beth O'Leary, Portia MacIntosh and Mhairi McFarlane.

©2024 Laura Starkey (P)2024 Bonnier Books UK
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

Critic reviews

'An absolutely gorgeous story - I now have a massive book hangover. I loved it' Jules Wake, author of The Spark

'I mean it when I say: Laura Starkey has written the most perfect romcom. The Spare Room was not a happily ever after, it was a happily all the way through. I loved it' Suzy Krause, author of Sorry I Missed You

What listeners say about The Spare Room

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sweet story

This was a heartwarming story with a cinnamon bun love interest. I definitely recommend it and will be reading more books by Laura Starkey!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

humour

character growth and building her self respect. with great healthy friends she meets on the way!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Upbeat, propulsive and entertaining

A perfect summer read. Rosie is a heroine who leads with kindess and Aled has unexpected, hidden depths. Devour this book. You won't regret it.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just perfect

Laura Starkey is a fabulous author - I think she may be one of my most favourite authors. This book is great, it’s extremely well written, the characters are well rounded and believable - I was so invested in Rosie and the journey she went on, as well as in the development of her relationship with Aled. I’m a little bit in love with both of them. The forced-proximity trope is really well written, and doesn’t feel similar to anything I’ve heard before (and I’m a huge romcom fan, I’ve read a lot of forced-proximity).
Completely and thoroughly worth a listen.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful