Listen free for 30 days

The Songweaver's Vow

Narrated by: Liz Morey
Length: 9 hrs and 23 mins
3 out of 5 stars (2 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

She tells Greek legends to entertain Norse gods until one of her stories leads to murder.

When Euthalia’s father trades her to Viking raiders, her best hope is to be made a wife instead of a slave. She gets her wish - sort of - when she is sacrificed as a bride to a god.

Her inhuman husband seems kind, but he visits only in the dark of night and will not allow her to look at him. By day, Euthalia becomes known as a storyteller, spinning ancient Greek tales to entertain Asgard’s gods and monsters.

When one of her stories precipitates a god’s murder and horrific retribution, Euthalia discovers there is a monster in her bed as well. Alone in a hostile Asgard, Euthalia must ally with a spiteful goddess to sway Odin himself before bloody tragedy opens Ragnarok, the prophesied end of the world.

With an epic cast of characters including Odin, Thor, Freyja, and Loki, and a magnificent harmony of Greek and Nordic mythology, this tale will appeal to readers of Neil Gaiman, Stephen Lawhead, and Mercedes Lackey.

The Songweaver's Vow is the winner of 2018 Realm Award, Best Fantasy and SPFBO's Best of 2017 Semifinalist.

©2017 Laura VanArendonk Baugh (P)2019 Laura VanArendonk Baugh

More from the same

Author

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 30-08-19

Great narration!

Liz Morey is an engaging narrator who brings the story to life. Excellent pacing and great, easily distinguishable voices for the characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-08-19

An amazing find

I came into this with no knowledge of what it was about- and ended up listening to the audiobook until early in the morning. It hooked me immediately, and every chapter made me want to continue. The characters were dynamic and grew on me within a few pages of their introduction.

I would absolutely- and am recommending this story to anyone with a love of greek or norse mythology. Or a love of good books in general!