Listen free for 30 days

The Songs of Us

Narrated by: Gavin Osborn, Katy Sobey
Length: 12 hrs and 18 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (49 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Fans of Jojo Moyes and Marian Keyes will love The Songs of Us by Emma Cooper, a charming, funny and heartbreaking novel of love, loss and what it means to be a family. 

If Melody hadn't run out of deicer that day, she would never have slipped and banged her head. She wouldn't be left with a condition that makes her sing when she's nervous. And she definitely wouldn't have belted out the Arctic Monkeys' 'I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor' in assembly at her son's school. 

If Dev hadn't taken the kids to the zoo that day, then the accident wouldn't have happened. He wouldn't have left Flynn and Rose without a dad. Or shattered the love of his life's heart. But if they hadn't seen the missing person report that day, they might never have taken the trip to Cornwall. And, in the last place they expected, discovered what it really means to be 'Us'.

©2018 Emma Cooper (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Limited

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant. I laughed and cried

If you like jo jo moyes , you will definitely like this. The author wrote with such authenticity that I really felt I was going through it with them all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellently written

Loved it .
Very gentle story and cried at the end!
Fell in love with all the characters .
Beautifully narrated.
Xxxx

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CLAIRE
  • Stockport, United Kingdom
  • 27-10-19

Wow, just wow.

absolutely loved this book. Struggled about with the storyline at first, but well worth keeping going. This book made laugh and cry. it isn't sentimental but just a really easy listen. Looking forward to reading more from Emma Cooper.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful, touching book

I'm so pleased I found this book in the sale, it's a funny, sad beautiful story and the narration is spot on. I would say bear with it if you struggle initially as I did. Loved it and finished it in the middle of the night!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • VB
  • 22-10-19

Just lovely

It took me a couple of chapters to get into this book and then I was hooked. A story that made me laugh and cry and it was told and read beautifully, give it a go, you won’t be disappointed!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book...

and not just because my name is Melody! Great story well told. Thank you! Looking forward to the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a great book!

This was an unusual choice for me, one on a 2 for 1 deal to make the numbers up. I admit I wasn't sure at first but so glad I stuck with it. A great listen, light hearted and original, an interesting way of dealing with some gritty subjects. Absolutely loved it through the laughter and the tears!! Listen to it and enjoy!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Easy listening while doing something else. 6/10

It started off in a Marian Keyes manner, with funny moments. At some point, it went into an unpredicted direction which was good in that sense. Overall a good enough read but way too wordy by the end. The female narrator spoke well but had a pattern of high inflection on ends of sentences, and she covered two characters in this long book. While it didn't stop me from continuing, I wouldn't choose another book with this narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely brilliant

I loved this book, it had me laughing and crying and I know I will listen again in the future.
It was well written, exceptionally well narrated and I can’t praise it enough.