Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Fans of Jojo Moyes and Marian Keyes will love The Songs of Us by Emma Cooper, a charming, funny and heartbreaking novel of love, loss and what it means to be a family. 

If Melody hadn't run out of deicer that day, she would never have slipped and banged her head. She wouldn't be left with a condition that makes her sing when she's nervous. And she definitely wouldn't have belted out the Arctic Monkeys' 'I Bet You Look Good on the Dancefloor' in assembly at her son's school. 

If Dev hadn't taken the kids to the zoo that day, then the accident wouldn't have happened. He wouldn't have left Flynn and Rose without a dad. Or shattered the love of his life's heart. But if they hadn't seen the missing person report that day, they might never have taken the trip to Cornwall. And, in the last place they expected, discovered what it really means to be 'Us'.

©2018 Emma Cooper (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Limited

What listeners say about The Songs of Us

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    62
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellently written

Loved it .
Very gentle story and cried at the end!
Fell in love with all the characters .
Beautifully narrated.
Xxxx

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant. I laughed and cried

If you like jo jo moyes , you will definitely like this. The author wrote with such authenticity that I really felt I was going through it with them all.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So glad I finally got around to this book

I loved this book, Emma made me laugh out loud and cry x brilliant :)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I laughed, I cried, I LOVED this book

A funny and heartwarming debut from Emma Cooper. the Narrator really brings the characters to life. For those who enjoy JoJo Moyes Novels, this is the book for you... my favourite of the year so far!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic!

An amazingly funny, emotional, sad and thoughtful rollercoaster of a novel. I adored it and wish I could could write like that. Get your tissues out!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Made me cry laugh an cry again

Beautiful just beautiful thank you for sharing this story so funny yet so sad VERY FUNNY

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Poignant, beautiful

What a beautiful book - had me laughing and crying in equal measure and was very well narrated! Would definitely recommend it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very enjoyable,.nice story

was a slow starter but then really got into it and shed a few tears

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Stick with it, you will not be disappointed

I found this a bit of a slow burner and was convinced i knew where it was heading and then boom! Not at all what I expected. I found myself feeling like I really knew the characters and rooted for them. I wont give the story away but keep the tissues near by, but the ending is uplifting. Enjoy!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A really inspiring book

Loved this book. A bit tough at times as it really resonated with my Mumsy worries about my children and whether they will be ok but the humour makes up for it.
I have always liked novels with several voices and this is done beautifully here.
Great narration too.

A story about love, courage and positive thinking.