Listen free for 30 days

The Silent Children

Detective Robyn Carter, Book 4
Narrated by: Emma Newman
Length: 12 hrs and 52 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (91 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The boy studied the bruise turning yellow at the base of his neck. With quick fingers his mother tightened his tie and pulled his collar high above it. Her eyes alone said, We will not speak of this....

Years later a man is found shot dead in a local park. On his phone is a draft text: I can’t keep this secret any longer. The recipient is unnamed. 

Detective Robyn Carter knows this secret is the key to the case, but his friends and family don’t offer any clues, and all her team have to go on is a size-ten footprint. Then a woman is found in a pool of blood at the bottom of her staircase, and a seemingly insignificant detail in her stepdaughter’s statement makes Robyn wonder: Are the two bodies are connected, and has the killer only just begun?

When another body confirms Robyn’s worst fears, she realizes she’s in a race against time to stop the killer before they strike again. But just as she thinks she’s closing in, one of her own team goes missing.

Buried in the past is a terrible injustice. Can Robyn uncover the truth before another life is lost? 

An absolutely heart-stopping and compelling serial killer thriller that will keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Rachel Abbot and Robert Dugoni.

©2017 Carol Wyer (P)2017 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Silent Children

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant!

brilliant! gripping from start to finish! ..Totally recommend this book! can't wait till the next book comes out.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

i enjoy the way the perps past runs in parallel.

the way the story is told unfolds in paralel to the history and background of the killer is interesting. this gives quite an interesting insite.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • S
  • 03-09-20

not my type

gave up listening at chap 58 no intention to offend narrator but found narration difficult it was clearly spoken but far to twee for me accents need improving the jamaican accent was terrible .

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Didn’t Tie Ip All the Loose Ends

I’m a fan of Carol Wyer but was left a little disappointed with this book. I won’t detail the plot as it will ruin it for others but I was left wondering why the past experiences two of the characters had any relevance to the current story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

enjoyable series.

A good enjoyable series. There is the main plot and a sub plot going through the series. Best to start from the beginning.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great series

Great 📙 couldn't put it down love the author going to finsh series then start the new series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

New twist

the twist that he is still alive, can't wait for that story and reactions

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Don't fall aslep listening!

Would you consider the audio edition of The Silent Children to be better than the print version?

I don' rad print so i can't really answer this question, although, if i could read print i would still opt for audible because listening brings the book to life.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Even though he is not a main character, i Love Ross - the PI, he should be more involved in the books.

What about Emma Newman’s performance did you like?

I enjoy listening to Emma - easy to listen to.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

not really - i was too busy trying to keep up with the story!

Any additional comments?

Overall, a good book - lots of threads to keep up with so i would not reccomment listening to this book before bed, if you fall asleep you will lose the plot!! but please do give it a read, something a little different and enjoyable. 4 stars.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Too many threads :/

Ok but too many threads to follow. I did catchup eventually but it's not a good bedtime book! I hope the next book brings Davis back, we can all relax and sleep then! lol 😉😑😊😲 P.S.. The narrators voice is a bit ''wishy washy'' for a who dunnit story. A bit more emphasis and context needed! 💰🔫🔪"

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Book Addict
  • Book Addict
  • 09-09-19

Not my favorite

I love Carol Wyer’s books, but for some reason this one just dragged on, too many characters...it got a bit confusing. I eventually lost interest with 3 hours left to go. I’ll still listen to her other books, she hasn’t lost me as a fan yet!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MAMACATS
  • MAMACATS
  • 06-07-20

Money makes the world go round or does it???

I don't particularly care for Carol Wyer's books, but I actually gave this one a chance and glad I did. And as the old adage says, "Money is always the root of all evil ".

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tupelo Honey
  • Tupelo Honey
  • 03-02-20

How sad

Those poor babies. They never had a chance. This lady needs to learn how to pronounce a few words like macho Fiat Nike atherosclerosis and reputable. She really is a good narrator given all the different characters she has to portray. It’s just when those oddball pronunciations drop in every now and then it’s very ..... ummm ... disruptive. I know Brits pronounce words differently than Americans but some words should be universal like Fiat Nike and macho. Others like Arteriosclerosis and reputable and leverage and celebratory surely aren’t accented differently “over there,” are they?

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Magidde
  • Magidde
  • 03-08-19

Disappointed

I've listened to most of Carol Wyer 's DI Robyn Carter audiobooks and have enjoyed them. This time, I was annoyed by repeated changes in tense and point of view. Plus, the monotonous narrator who lacks the ability or willingness to expressively differentiate the characters (except for the young child) added little. Everybody pretty much sounded the same, including men and women.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for B. Rawlings
  • B. Rawlings
  • 08-01-19

If you've listened to the other 3, keep going!

Not as heart-racing as the previous titles and the ending wasn't exactly unpredictable, but the case was unique enough and the characters strong enough to keep my interest. Worth it if you've already read/listened to the other 3 before it. The main character's subplot about her dead husband (fiance?) was a great edition and left me wanting more. Hopefully there's a fifth book coming soon. The narrator fits this series perfectly and does a great job doing a range of voices, especially when having to do men and children. However, some characters do end up sounding similar given how many there are, which can get confusing. And there were a few errors and annoying habits the reader has that made it difficult to listen to at times, predominantly her use of Hard G's on every word containing a G, like "ring-ging" or "rang-geh" instead of ringing and rang. But otherwise very enjoyable.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Niki
  • Niki
  • 10-01-18

Barbie does murder

The narration is so annoying a breathless Barbie comes to mind. It may be a very good plot but the narration is awful. I couldn't help but notice many Audio listeners have similar reactions, you'd think the author would get a clue and find someone else! The whole story is ruined because the voice just doesn't sound like a seasoned detective, more like a sex kitten that got the wrong job!

1 person found this helpful