Listen free for 30 days

The Sign of the Four

Narrated by: Cate Barratt, Linda Barrans
Series: Sherlock Holmes, Book 2
Length: 4 hrs and 12 mins

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime


The second of four novels by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle featuring famed detective Sherlock Holmes, The Sign of the Four is set in London but has its origins in colonial India. Four men in Agra make a pact to share the proceeds of a stolen treasure, but they are deceived by a fifth, who finds and takes the loot back to England and hides it. A decade on, young Mary Morstan receives the first of several lustrous pearls in the post - a mysterious gift delivered to her on the same date for several years. She finds her way to Holmes' apartment on Baker Street to seek his advice after receiving a letter from a stranger, instructing her to go to the Lyceum theatre to learn something to her benefit.    

Audio edited by Cate Barratt

Public Domain (P)2019 Voices of Today

What members say

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.