Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Everything is about to change....

1789. Pierre and Catherine Aubert, the Comte and Comtesse de Verais, have fled the palace of Versailles for their château, deep in the French Alps. But as revolution spreads through the country, even hidden away the Auberts will not be safe forever. Soon they must make a terrible decision in order to protect themselves and their children, from harm. 

Present day. When Lu’s mother dies leaving her heartbroken, the chance to move to a château in the South of France with her husband and best friends seems an opportunity for a new beginning. But Lu can’t resist digging into their new home’s history, and when she stumbles across the unexplained disappearance of Catherine Aubert, the château begins to reveal its secrets - and a mystery unsolved for centuries is uncovered.... 

Unlock the secret of the château today. 

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Fiona Valpy and The Forgotten Village

©2020 Kathleen McGurl (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic reviews

"Brilliant! Kath writes the most wonderful timeslip and I urge you to snap this up." (Nicola Cornick, author of The Forgotten Sister)

"Enthralling.... A beautiful and heartbreaking time-slip story.... A gripping story of love and redemption across two centuries.... The perfect escape." (The Lancashire Post

What listeners say about The Secret of the Chateau

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

lovely book

I very much enjoyed this book. Love all things Versailles and France in that era. sad conclusion but a really good story.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jasmine Robinson
  • Jasmine Robinson
  • 16-12-20

Great! Just great!

This was absolutely wonderful! What a beautiful story enhanced by a mixture of fiction & history. Just great! A must read if you love history, chateaus, France or travelled to France.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for V
  • V
  • 15-08-20

my interview

kept my interest, well written and well preformed ,would recommend 5his nook to other listeners.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for D. Toland
  • D. Toland
  • 16-07-21

Slow and uneventful

It wasn’t a bad story but there was not much to it until the very end and that wasn’t really much of a climax. The narration was very good.