Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £23.99

Buy Now for £23.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

The Plumberry School of Comfort Food by Cathy Bramley was originally published as a four-part serial. This is the complete story in one audiobook, read by Colleen Prendergast.

Verity Bloom hasn't been interested in cooking anything more complicated than the perfect fish finger sandwich ever since she lost her best friend and baking companion two years ago.

But an opportunity to help a friend lands her right back in the heart of the kitchen. The Plumberry School of Comfort Food is due to open in a few weeks' time and needs the kind of great ideas that only Verity could cook up. And with new friendships bubbling and a sprinkling of romance in the mix, Verity finally begins to feel like she's home.

But when tragedy strikes at the very heart of the cookery school, can Verity find the magic ingredient for Plumberry while still writing her own recipe for happiness?

A heartwarming and romantic story certain to make you smile - perfect for fans of Carole Matthews, Trisha Ashley and Katie Fforde.

©2017 Penguin Random House UK (P)2016 Cathy Bramley

Critic reviews

"Delightfully warm with plenty of twists and turns." (Trisha Ashley)
"Engaging characters and a sweeping romance. This is delightful!" (Katie Fforde)
"Full of joy and fun." (Milly Johnson)

What listeners say about The Plumberry School of Comfort Food

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    97
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    99
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    83
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Colleen Prendergast could narrate the dictionary and I'd be hooked!

I know this is a book review and I love Cathy Bramley stories - this one didn't disappoint at all, I consumed every minute but I particularly love anything narrated by Colleen Prendergast. Five 🌟 to both.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Ok but too predictable

Would you try another book written by Cathy Bramley or narrated by Colleen Prendergast?

I would give them another go.

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

Best bits were the set up of the cookery school and ideas for new events. Worst was the constant references to dead girl and the badly written romance scenes.

What about Colleen Prendergast’s performance did you like?

She was ok.

Did The Plumberry School of Comfort Food inspire you to do anything?

No

Any additional comments?

Too much re dead girl. Story line obvious. Supposed to be twists but they were obvious. Romance scenes all slushy and kissy and far too many. Yuck !

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I'm hungry!

I just didn't want the book to finish, I enjoyed the story such a lot. A good love story, never mind the food .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Fabulous ‘Can’t Put Down’ ‘fun & feelings’ story.

A fabulous’Can’t Put Down’ story. Strong story line, & another beautiful read by Colleen Prendergast - the best Narrater I have heard.... in fact if she is ‘reading’ a book, that in itself draws me to consider a book as much (or more?) than the story line!!!
Highly recommend this & you won’t be disappointed!👍

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, didn’t want it to end

What a lovely story!
Aside from the fact that It is beautifully narrated by Colleen Prendergast who has a great voice for audible, the story is really well written by Cathy Bramley.

There was a real richness to the characters and as a baker myself the setting of the cookery school was right up my street.

Would highly recommend 😊👍

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Hummmmmm

I can’t say I didn’t like this book but it was a bit bland - maybe the storyteller was to blame? The accents and voices were good but ....I don’t know - I read it till the end but .....I don’t want to be rude as a lot of effort has obviously gone into it .........

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another lovely book

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I love the way Cathy Bramley brings charades from other books into her books and I was so press to read the continuing story of Gabe and Noah in the lemon tree cafe, as well as heating Moe news from Verity and Tom.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely story

story was a little predictable but still a really nice read. Enjoyed the story line and the characters. Will definitely read another book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Light holiday read

Nice, easy to listen to. Fun, light read for a hood time out from life.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can't wait to start new one!

Absolutely loved this one. Didn't want it to end. Roll on next one! can't wait.