Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

£0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Paris Network cover art

The Paris Network

By: Siobhan Curham
Narrated by: Laurence Bouvard
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £18.99

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Listeners also enjoyed...

An American in Paris cover art
The Secret Keeper cover art
The Secret Photograph cover art
Beyond This Broken Sky cover art
The Lost Girl in Paris cover art
The German Wife cover art
The Silence Before Dawn cover art
Daughters of Paris cover art
The Girl on the Platform cover art
All the Courage We Have Found cover art
The Last Restaurant in Paris cover art
The Watchmaker's Daughter cover art
The Angel of Vienna cover art
The Girl with the Scarlet Ribbon cover art
The Resistance Girl cover art
The Doctor’s Daughter cover art

Summary

Paris, 1940: He pressed the tattered book into her hands. "You must go to the café, and ask at the counter for Pierre Duras. Tell him that I sent you. Tell him you’re there to save the people of France."

Sliding the coded message in between the crisp pages of the hardback novel, bookstore owner Laurence slips out into the cold night to meet her resistance contact, pulling her woolen beret down further over her face. The silence of the night is suddenly shattered by an Allied plane rushing overhead, its tail aflame, heading down toward the forest. Her every nerve stands on end. She must try to rescue the pilot.

But straying from her mission isn’t part of the plan, and if she is discovered, it won’t only be her life at risk....

America, years later: When Jeanne uncovers a dusty old box in her father’s garage, her world as she knows it is turned upside down. She has inherited a bookstore in a tiny French village, just outside of Paris, from a mysterious woman named Laurence.

Traveling to France to search for answers about the woman her father has kept a secret for years, Jeanne finds the store tucked away, in a corner of the cobbled main square. Boarded up, it is in complete disrepair. Inside, she finds a tiny silver pendant hidden beneath the blackened, scorched floorboards.

As Jeanne pieces together Laurence’s incredible story, she discovers a woman whose bravery knew no bounds. But will the truth about who Laurence really is shatter Jeanne’s heart or change her future?

Inspired by true events, an epic and emotional novel about one woman’s strength to survive in the most difficult circumstances and the power of love in the face of darkness. Fans of The Alice Network, The Nightingale, and The Lost Girls of Paris will be completely gripped.

©2022 Siobhan Curham (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Paris Network

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Glimpse into the brave resistance of france liberty & love

Well read book with engaging characters, set in occupied france in ww2.
Eye opening detail on the nazi aggressors, & the bravery of the French resistance. Sometimes the book is mightier than the sword , & the word more long lasting than the gun.
I will remember this story of banned books, writers, & courage .
A very well crafted story …

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating listening

Really enjoyed listening to this story. Made even better by the narrator. I listen whilst walking the dog and with this story the dog had many long, long walks as I couldn't wait to hear how the story panned out, bringing the past to the future or the future back to the past.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Clever angle for this story

This was a great book. The reader was outstanding once I got my head around hearing an American accent in a story about France. The writing was very erudite and well researched. The book.took you convincingly to rural France at a very awful time in world history. Very gripping and well told.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • cj
  • 28-02-22

Another book ruined by terrible narration

The book isn’t too bad in itself but the narrator kills it, why use an over exaggerated American accent to narrate then use silly parodies of French and German accents for individual characters. It was ridiculous and irritating. The narrator made Laurence sound like a child. Who even approves these shocking narrators for audible? Going to cancel the subscription and go to Kobo because this isn’t a one off it’s literally every boom now

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful