Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Heart-stopping international spy thriller from 'An espionage master' (Charles Cumming) starring ex-MI6 officer Paul Samson for fans of Mick Herron, Lee Child and John le Carre

'They killed Robert Harland today, and they're going to kill the rest of you.'

This is the warning private investigator Paul Samson receives right after Joni Fremantle, the woman he has been guarding for a mysterious client, gives him the slip. No time to worry about that now: his life, and those of Denis Hisami, Anastasia Christakos and even the young Syrian Naji, is on the line.

Samson is sure he knows why - to expose a company supplying funds to far right groups across Europe is to paint a target on your own back - so the question is who has ordered the hit: the Americans or the Russians? Hard to spot danger coming from two directions at once.

Meanwhile, two other things become apparent: one, it was a mistake to let Fremantle get away so easily, and two, Robert Harland, ever the consummate spy, has one final, crucial part to play from beyond the grave.

©2020 Henry Porter (P)2020 Quercus Editions Limited

More from the same

What listeners say about The Old Enemy

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.