Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.99

Buy Now for £22.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Heart-stopping international spy thriller from 'an espionage master' (Charles Cumming) starring ex-MI6 officer Paul Samson, for fans of Mick Herron, Lee Child and John le Carre.

They killed Robert Harland today, and they're going to kill the rest of you.

This is the warning private investigator Paul Samson receives right after Joni Fremantle, the woman he has been guarding for a mysterious client, gives him the slip. No time to worry about that now: his life, and those of Denis Hisami, Anastasia Christakos and even the young Syrian Naji, is on the line.

Samson is sure he knows why - to expose a company supplying funds to far-right groups across Europe is to paint a target on your own back - so the question is who has ordered the hit: the Americans or the Russians? Hard to spot danger coming from two directions at once.

Meanwhile, two other things become apparent: one, it was a mistake to let Fremantle get away so easily, and two, Robert Harland, ever the consummate spy, has one final, crucial part to play from beyond the grave.

©2021 Henry Porter (P)2021 Quercus Editions Limited

What listeners say about The Old Enemy

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellently paced and intriguing spy novel

I love the characters Henry Porter is developing in this exciting series of spy novels. Well worth a try for fans of the genre.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant book

Excellent conclusion to the trilogy, very contemporary story line, can believe such a conspiracy is happing now. Well written strong character development, riveting, thrilling on the edge of your seat story. Can’t wait to read more from this author.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really exciting and well narrated!

I have read the first two books, but I thought as I was unpacking my flat I would listen to this one. God, it got me through a boring time. I don't think you need to have read the first two, but they are great so you might as well. If you like thrillers, espionage and face-paced I would say this is for you.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

A weak storyline

This book was quite disappointing as I had really enjoyed Firefly. The plot seemed complex and the end of the story was quite limp and feeble.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Don’t buy dreadful

I have wasted a credit on this rubbish reader slow and boring story even worse

1 person found this helpful