Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

You can never truly know what goes on behind closed doors....

My darling son, Sam, is marrying his childhood sweetheart, and I couldn’t be prouder of the man he’s grown into. Walking out on his abusive father all those years ago was the best thing I ever did. And today he stands, tall and handsome, saying "I do" to my dream daughter-in-law. If I hadn’t pushed them together all those years ago, he might never have found a girl as perfect as Lauren. It’s true what they say, mother always knows best. 

But weeks later, Lauren is dead and police cars fill the driveway of their idyllic countryside home. As they question Sam, I sense he’s hiding something. Why won’t he look me in the eye? And who does he rush off to meet as soon as the police are gone? 

Desperate, I do what every good mother would do: I let myself into Sam and Lauren’s bedroom. What I see, I will never be able to forget. My son’s beautiful new wife was hiding a dangerous secret. Can I clear my son’s name? And could my life be in danger now too? 

A completely gripping, utterly twisted thriller that will leave your jaw on the floor. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Wife Between Us, and The Woman in the Window.

©2021 Sue Watson (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The New Wife

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    94
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    97
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    44
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Mis-sold

Claims to be a Totally Gripping Psychological Thriller. In fact is a just a "who-done-it" mystery. There's no perceived threat at all. (That's what would make it a thriller.)
So, there's a killing, an investigation, and we eventually get to hear who the murderer was, with a few mis-directions on the way. Lots of padding.
Usual formula for a domestic drama, woman as the lead character, slightly complicated family situation. In this case the new daughter-in-law apparently gets pushed down the stairs 3 months after getting married.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fab book

Excellent book which kept me gripped. Very good narration and timing and the story has a really good twist

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not bad but annoying

Although I enjoyed the book and found it an easy read I was irritated by the lack of knowledge of police procedure. You can’t just get people arrested and charged on a whim with hardly any evidence. You certainly can’t get them out of prison after they have been charged just because someone else’s DNA is found at a crime scene. Felt like the author took us for idiots if she expected us to believe this. Georgie would have though what a dumb woman !!!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enthralling

Enthralling, couldn't wait to hear the next chapter. Sorry it had to end. Highly recommended

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly enjoyed it

Thoroughly enjoyable listen. Gets better as it goes on. easy to listen to and entertaining

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It was alright

The character sounded very very stupid so was a little painful to sit and listen through it. Perhaps another might appreciate it more than I did.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

the croaky narration!

I was allergic to this, it was painful. like nails down a blackboard. I tried, I did, but ended up jumping from chapter 11 to last couple of chapters. I will never listen to this narrator again. The croaky ending to every sentence made me scream inside. Now please pass me the ear bleach ...

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Misleading cover page

Very weak reference to a new wife on the cover let alone one you can’t trust. Can’t see how this has been reviewed so we’ll. Average easy read at best.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Really really enjoyed this book , listened to it within two days , loved every second of it

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Yeah, was an OK story

I thought the story was ok, sometimes books have too many twists & turns though.
I guessed who did it which was a surprise, I don't usually. Narrated quite well I must say.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Yolonda
  • Yolonda
  • 12-12-21

IT WAS NOT OBVIOUS!!

I almost didn’t purchase this book because of a review that stated the plot was obvious. After reading several more reviews I took a chance. I didn’t figure it out until chapter 40 and then found out I was WRONG before the book ended. Lol. It was a great book. Lol I loved this one.

22 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kelly
  • Kelly
  • 22-11-21

Finally, a good book!

I’ve been through or attempted to go through so many duds lately, even though this isn’t the most original, it’s my kind of read. It’s an easy read with not too many characters and the story is linear. Which, makes it easy to follow and the dynamic between the families is interesting.
Lauren and Sam meet in nursery school their families staying close being good friends through the years. The two get married then 3 months after a perfect wedding Lauren is dead.
The rest of the book is a whodunit with the police arresting Sam right off the bat.
It grabbed me from the first chapter. I recommended it.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tina
  • Tina
  • 23-11-21

Twist & Turns galore

LOVED LOVED LOVED!!!
The story was exceptional!! Every time I thought I knew how it would end, I was wrong, it kept me guessing until the very last chapter. The performance was great!

P.S. I have listened to dozens of Mystery & Thrillers and have loved a lot of them but this book was the first one to compel me to write a review

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for susan perlman
  • susan perlman
  • 20-12-21

Total Soap Opera

If you love soap operas, you live this book. However, if you prefer true suspense, believable plot lines and realistic story lines, this is not the book for you. And to top it off, there are numerous grammatical errors in the dialogue that are like. nails on a chalkboard

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michele Lynne Marvell
  • Michele Lynne Marvell
  • 14-12-21

Keeps you in suspense

I love stories that take surprising twists and turns. This one does for sure! I couldn’t stop listening.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicole
  • Nicole
  • 26-11-21

Sometimes you can't trust reviews

Got this book because the reviews said it was a page turner with twists and turns. It was a cliche story and the bad guy was staring the main character right in the face waving his arms around before she figured it out. The conversations were incredibly unrealistic and dramatic. Skip this one.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mossilini
  • mossilini
  • 14-12-21

on end on and onnnnnnn

I got 4 hours in and I had to quit. the narrator is great. the story... ugh. I'm sorry....I kept waiting for something to happen but it was so ridiculous. this story could have been told in 1 hour

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lisa
  • lisa
  • 12-12-21

good but easy to figure out

Definitely enjoyed the book, well written, great characters, easy flow. It was very easy to figure out who the bad guy was, probably the only downfall.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Stephanie Cherin
  • Stephanie Cherin
  • 04-01-22

If you like main character being a single Extremely naïve woman, extremely naïve

Definitely not my cup of tea As I do not appreciate main characters being blind to reality, like a child not seeing what’s in front of her, so naïve is the main character shocked by the unveiled truth throughout the entire book till the end when she finally realizes her weakness in taking people at face value. The narrator‘s nervousness depicting this character was enough to put me off not wanting to Continue listening.The twists were interesting but drowned out by this Ignorant, irritating single woman With no back bone,totally absorbed in her son, her life.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Beach lifestyle
  • Beach lifestyle
  • 08-12-21

Engaging Drama

The narration was exceptional! Thr variations in her tone and presentations had me believing several people were speaking!

4 people found this helpful