Listen free for 30 days

  • The New Wife

  • A Totally Gripping Psychological Thriller with a Twist You Won't See Coming
  • By: Sue Watson
  • Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
  • Length: 9 hrs and 45 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (209 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The New Wife cover art

The New Wife

By: Sue Watson
Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Woman Next Door cover art
The Forever Home cover art
First Date cover art
The Sister-in-Law cover art
The Empty Nest cover art
The Lodge cover art
Our Little Lies cover art
The Wedding Day cover art
The Resort cover art
Her Husband's Mistake cover art
The Second Marriage cover art
The Baby Shower cover art
The Doctor's Wife cover art
When the Dead Speak cover art
The Life You Left cover art
Only for My Daughter cover art

Summary

You can never truly know what goes on behind closed doors....

My darling son, Sam, is marrying his childhood sweetheart, and I couldn’t be prouder of the man he’s grown into. Walking out on his abusive father all those years ago was the best thing I ever did. And today he stands, tall and handsome, saying "I do" to my dream daughter-in-law. If I hadn’t pushed them together all those years ago, he might never have found a girl as perfect as Lauren. It’s true what they say, mother always knows best. 

But weeks later, Lauren is dead and police cars fill the driveway of their idyllic countryside home. As they question Sam, I sense he’s hiding something. Why won’t he look me in the eye? And who does he rush off to meet as soon as the police are gone? 

Desperate, I do what every good mother would do: I let myself into Sam and Lauren’s bedroom. What I see, I will never be able to forget. My son’s beautiful new wife was hiding a dangerous secret. Can I clear my son’s name? And could my life be in danger now too? 

A completely gripping, utterly twisted thriller that will leave your jaw on the floor. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Wife Between Us, and The Woman in the Window.

©2021 Sue Watson (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The New Wife

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    109
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    108
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    93
  • 4 Stars
    51
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Mis-sold

Claims to be a Totally Gripping Psychological Thriller. In fact is a just a "who-done-it" mystery. There's no perceived threat at all. (That's what would make it a thriller.)
So, there's a killing, an investigation, and we eventually get to hear who the murderer was, with a few mis-directions on the way. Lots of padding.
Usual formula for a domestic drama, woman as the lead character, slightly complicated family situation. In this case the new daughter-in-law apparently gets pushed down the stairs 3 months after getting married.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fab book

Excellent book which kept me gripped. Very good narration and timing and the story has a really good twist

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not bad but annoying

Although I enjoyed the book and found it an easy read I was irritated by the lack of knowledge of police procedure. You can’t just get people arrested and charged on a whim with hardly any evidence. You certainly can’t get them out of prison after they have been charged just because someone else’s DNA is found at a crime scene. Felt like the author took us for idiots if she expected us to believe this. Georgie would have though what a dumb woman !!!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Misleading cover page

Very weak reference to a new wife on the cover let alone one you can’t trust. Can’t see how this has been reviewed so we’ll. Average easy read at best.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enthralling

Enthralling, couldn't wait to hear the next chapter. Sorry it had to end. Highly recommended

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly enjoyed it

Thoroughly enjoyable listen. Gets better as it goes on. easy to listen to and entertaining

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Page turner

Well written and very believable
The author writes well about all of the issues in the book
Easy to listen to and wonderfully narrated.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It was alright

The character sounded very very stupid so was a little painful to sit and listen through it. Perhaps another might appreciate it more than I did.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

the croaky narration!

I was allergic to this, it was painful. like nails down a blackboard. I tried, I did, but ended up jumping from chapter 11 to last couple of chapters. I will never listen to this narrator again. The croaky ending to every sentence made me scream inside. Now please pass me the ear bleach ...

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Really really enjoyed this book , listened to it within two days , loved every second of it

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!