Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • The Nanny

  • By: Ruth Heald
  • Narrated by: Katie Villa
  • Length: 8 hrs and 49 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (20 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Nanny cover art

The Nanny

By: Ruth Heald
Narrated by: Katie Villa
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Listeners also enjoyed...

The New Girl cover art
The Mother's Mistake: An absolutely gripping psychological thriller cover art
Happily Married cover art
The Party on Laurel Street cover art
Her First Child cover art
I Know Your Secret cover art
The Woman Upstairs cover art
The Wedding cover art
The Lodge cover art
The Perfect Girlfriend cover art
My Word Against His cover art
The Wrong Mother cover art
The Daughter-in-Law cover art
The Wedding Day cover art
The Wife Next Door cover art
The Millionaire's Wife cover art

Summary

As I clutched baby Chloe’s blanket, tears streamed down my face as I remembered what happened the night she disappeared. Looking up at the apartment block I once called home, my mind was crowded with memories. David’s words echoed in my head, telling me to get out and never come back. I understood why: Our mistake had ruined everything.

When I accepted a job working as a nanny for David and Julie and their young children, I was excited to be making my own way in the world. I bonded with baby Chloe instantly and would have done anything for her. She had David's thick, dark hair and smiling eyes. I fell in love with her and was excited for my future.

But when a terrible mistake led to Chloe disappearing, I was instantly blamed. With no evidence, I was let go and I returned home to rebuild my life.

Twenty years later and I am still haunted by what happened. I have a family of my own now, and I’ve worked hard to be the best wife and mother I can be, but I’ve never forgotten the child who stole my heart.

Then a young woman arrives on my doorstep, and the past secret that I have kept from my family comes hurtling into my present.

I try to tell myself that I am overreacting. But the woman in front of me looks so much like David. Who is she, and why is she here? And if I welcome her in will she want to be a part of my life, or destroy it?

A totally addictive psychological thriller. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, T.M. Logan, and Shalini Boland.

©2022 Ruth Heald (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Nanny

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Review

Absolutely loved this book. Great story, couldn’t stop listening. Lots of twists and turns, Highly recommend.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant story

Really enjoyed this book. So much happened and it kept me enthralled and it was so well written and read.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Recommended listen

Ruth and Katie villa as the narrator one of my favourite combination’s, Ruth has a great writing style and Katie one of the best narrator in my opinion.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

OK

Writing a 'Nanny' book really needs to be thrilling/unusual/unique as there are so many out there - this is not one of the better ones. Average at best.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!