Listen free for 30 days

The Lies We Hide: An Absolutely Gripping and Darkly Compelling Novel

Narrated by: Tamsin Kennard
Length: 10 hrs and 55 mins
4.4 out of 5 stars (126 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The truth can set you free, or make you a prisoner...

Thirty years ago, Nicola Watson lived with her parents and older brother in a respectable suburb. At 10 years old, she didn’t yet understand why her stomach tightened when she heard her father’s heavy tread as he returned home late at night, or why it made her brother Graham’s stammer get worse, or why one night her mother Carol woke them both, wide-eyed and whispering, and took them out of their home and into the unknown.

Now a successful lawyer in the city, with a life poles apart from her dark beginnings, Nicola has returned home for her mother’s funeral. But as she stands in her mother’s house, remembering the woman who sacrificed everything for her children, Nicola has to confront the guilt that she feels for leaving her family behind. And the belief that she played a part in the events that led to her brother going to prison for murder.

All Carol wanted was to protect her children, but escaping her husband was only the beginning of the story. And when Nicola learns the truth of what her mother did, it will change everything she thought she knew about herself and her family.

A gripping, emotional story of family secrets, and the strength of a mother’s love in the darkest times. The next powerful listen for fans of The Silent Wife, Kerry Lonsdale and Emily Bleeker.

©2019 S.E. Lynes (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Lies We Hide: An Absolutely Gripping and Darkly Compelling Novel

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    88
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    70
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Convincing and compelling

Completely gripping. I switched it off once, because I had to get some sleep, then switched it straight back on again as soon as I woke up. 'The Lies We Hide' shines a light on the horror of domestic violence. Carol and Ted who get together in a Northern town in 1968, make sense. They reflect the pressures, attitudes and influences of their time. Their story, and the story of those affected by Ted's violence, spans decades. Always routed in time and place, 'The Lies We Hide' is convincing and compelling - beautifully written and read.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The best book I’ve read this year

Lift yourself into the world of fear and trepidation,gripping story line, characters were well chosen, although Graham seemed an old name for a young boy.. narrator was excellent. There’s something in this book for everyone, even a touch Scottish humour from Jim. 5 stars

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent Book

A good story but what made it for me was the brilliant narrator. Each character had a distinctive voice .

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

dull story and terrible accents

Gave up listening to it. The story was anything but gripping and the scouse accents were beyond terrible.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Weak

This was described as gripping. That being so , all I can say is it must take more to grip me than most people. The narration wasn't good but the actual stoyline was weak and silly!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • V
  • 08-01-20

Underwhelmed and disappointed

Although the subject is a serious one the writing was very superficial. There was no depth to this book. Setting the scene by using product references is completely unnecessary . The accents used in the reading made it seem like a school play. I don't recommend this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

I love S E Lynes books and have read all the previous ones - but I'm returning this one. It's a family drama story, about the lives of an abused woman, her son and daughter (who leave the husband at the beginning). But I nothing much else happens...

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely amazing!

This book had me laughing and crying until the wee small hours. The characters were real and relatable. Serious subjects were dealt with in a compassionate way. Thank you writer, love your books!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I didn’t want the book to end

If you are thinking whether to buy this audio book, do not think for one second more. You will not be disappointed. The book is truly well written and Tamsin Kennard is possibly one of the best narrators I have heard in a while. I listen to my audio books whilst ironing, doing housework or driving to work and back and although I didn’t want the book to end, I couldn’t stop listening to it. S.E Lynes, you have a new fan and Tamsin Kennard, well I think I could listen to you read the Yellow Pages from cover to cover. If you have not yet clicked purchase by now, do it, you won’t regret it. Enjoy

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Pleasant little read

The story is told from 3 points of view, the mother, son and daughter so three different perspectives. There were 2 twists at the end one of which I had guessed and dismissed. It is a pleasant story showing what a family is prepared to do for each other when the chips are down. The story starts with the mother who is the victim of domestic abuse and tells how she left her violent husband and the impact this had on her son. However the son repays the mother in his own way and his sister only learns the full truth after the death of their mother.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for GCS18
  • GCS18
  • 13-03-20

So well done

First of all, the narration was brilliant. Among the best of the 200 or more audiobooks I’ve listened to. The story was really unusual and well thought out. Became attached to the wonderful characters and loved how descriptive the time and place were! Highly recommend.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A. Twitchel
  • A. Twitchel
  • 27-02-20

Very touching story

I love it when I take a chance on a book with so few reviews and I really enjoy it! The narrator is excellent and I fell in love with the flawed, raw and realistic characters in this book. Yes it is dark, but these characters constantly struggle to evolve emotionally throughout the story. The beauty of this book is in their fight to find their way into the light. Alcoholism, drug addiction and physical violence are at the premise of the storyline, but truly so is hope and love. I could painfully identify with Carol's constant feelings of trepidation in her marriage. There will be those who say Carol is weak, but she is NOT. She makes mistakes, as we all do, and she is often unable to see herself as worthy of love, like so many victims of family dysfunction are. But she is NOT a victim, she is a strong woman who never gives up on her family, always putting one foot in front of the other searching for the light. This is just a beautiful story of love in all forms that a we cultivate over a lifetime. READ THIS BOOK!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dawna
  • Dawna
  • 11-09-20

Good listen

S.E. Lynes has become one of my favorite authors and Tamsin Kennard an excellent narrator. This book held my interest from start to finish, narrative acting is spot on.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AJ
  • AJ
  • 28-05-20

Meh...

This book was meh...just meh. It was boring and I felt like there were at least two characters who were just thrown in the mix that didn't really add anything to the story. I was hoping that the ending would redeem it but I had already predicted what would happen. Tamsin Kennard was brilliant at narrating as always and is truly the only reason I kept on listening. If not for her, I would have returned the book.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for karen
  • karen
  • 26-05-20

Boring

This book is just boring. I only listened hoping it would get better. The story is slow and boring.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marsha L. Woerner
  • Marsha L. Woerner
  • 22-04-20

Startling twists near the end

(As posted in GoodReads) Wow, what fascinating and unexpected twists at the end! Despite the fact that it's not a mystery, running questions about the characters and their motives and activities were constant throughout. And the questions "what really happened?" and "Who's the good guys, and are they entirely good?" were prevalent throughout. And, although, they were primarily answered by the end, the question of whether anyone was actually good and whether any activities were correct/justified is an ongoing question just in general. It's an interesting look into a screwed up situation and family for which there really wasn't a good answer.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rinnie
  • Rinnie
  • 12-03-20

Realistic tale

This one struck a cord. Made me think about my Mother and all she kept inside to raise 8 reasonably successful children. I had a really peaceful uneventful childhood, however I always had a feeling of something was about to jump off when my Dad was around. Notice I have this feeling around most men. I enjoyed this book and the family's dynamic. It also had a few twists. The narration was excellent. I would highly recommend this book.