Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Soon to be a major TV series starring Julia Roberts, produced by Reese Witherspoon's production company Hello Sunshine, makers of Big Little Lies and Little Fires Everywhere.

It was the last thing he told me: protect her.

Before Owen Michaels disappears, he manages to smuggle a note to his new wife, Hannah: protect her. Hannah knows exactly who Owen needs her to protect - his 16-year-old daughter, Bailey, who lost her mother tragically as a child. And who wants absolutely nothing to do with her new stepmother.

As her increasingly desperate calls to Owen go unanswered, his boss is arrested for fraud and the police start questioning her, Hannah realises that her husband isn't who he said he was. And that Bailey might hold the key to discovering Owen's true identity and why he disappeared. Together they set out to discover the truth. But as they start putting together the pieces of Owen's past, they soon realise that their lives will never be the same again....

A beautiful and thrilling mystery, perfect for fans of Lianne Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

©2021 Laura Dave (P)2021 Hachette Audio UK

Critic reviews

"Brilliant. Pacy, tense and twisty." (Lisa Hall)

"I adored this beautifully written thriller." (Jo Spain)

"Cancel all your plans before you start this one." (Chris Whitaker)

What listeners say about The Last Thing He Told Me

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    139
  • 4 Stars
    86
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    147
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    129
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good start but gets lost and then boring

Fabulous beginning and totally gripping, if absolutely zero characterisation. Good plotting. But when the plot falls apart the appalling writing gets seriously exposed. Dave writes every sentence three times as if for emphasis or clarity? God knows. I kept shouting at the stereo; 'Full stop! Stop there!' It was all this kind of thing; 'She wondered if he had a notebook, somewhere to write down what she was saying, to log all her words.' Just stop at notebook. Please. Please. Every single sentence was like this. Nonetheless, it was completely gripping until Mr Big shows up and it becomes ludicrous and boring. It's hard to keep up suspense and keep a plot interesting. Dave fails.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

He says.. she says..

Good story but the amount of times the phrases he says or she says etc are used is incredibly annoying

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An excellent read.

I cannot recommend this book enough - engaging story - really great narration too. Can’t wait to see the TV version now.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

kept me listening

narrator was good, story had a good pace and I looked forwards to each chapter.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Very dull & underwhelming

Don't waste your time with this one, very long and drawn out and nothing really happens! Very disappointing. Narrator is monotone and slow.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Speed up!!

Great story, couldn't put it down! My only criticism is the speed the narrator read at, holy moly was it slow! Had to increase the pace a good bit.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful book and story

Wonderful story, very well told. Very convincing plot and characters. I couldn’t put it down.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Tedious and endlessly repetitive

The plot turns out to be quite interesting in the end but the endless re-stating of the situation and the reiteration of the same questions is incredibly wearisome.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Predictable

Good writing and narration but it wasn’t amazing. Very similar to a lot of other books out there and slightly predictable. If you want an easy listen this is perfect .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Compelling and hard to stop listening. Great characters and ended well. Can't wait to see it on TV!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Putri F
  • Putri F
  • 13-05-21

Not as good as expected

I chose to listen to this book because Reese Witherspoon raved on the Instagram that this book is so good. She usually gets it right, but not this time.
Maybe Reese and I have different taste in book. This book left me feeling flat. No thrilling in the story.
The characters are 2 dimensional hence it’s hard for me to like the characters.
Just not for me.

1 person found this helpful