Regular price: £27.09

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Prince Gaborn, the Earth King, has defeated the forces arrayed against him each time before: the magical and human forces marshaled by Raj Ahten, who seeks immortality at any cost and has given up his humanity in trade; and the inhuman, innumerable, insectile hordes of the giant Reavers from under the Earth, whose unknowable motives are inimical to human life.

Now there must be final confrontations, both on the field of battle, with the supernatural creature that Raj Ahten has become, and underground, in the cavernous homeland of the Reavers, where the sorcerous One True Master who rules them all lies in wait—in the Lair of Bones. The survival of the human race on Earth is at stake.

Spend some more time among the Runelords.
©2003 David Farland (P)2010 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

Critic reviews

“The Runelords Saga comes to a gripping conclusion in David Farland’s The Lair of Bones…Farland’s imaginative use of magic and detailed world-building contribute to the impact…. Gaborn is a flawed but likable hero whom readers will be sorry to leave behind. Fans of Robert Jordan and Terry Goodkind will enjoy Farland’s Runelords.”( Romantic Times)
“David Farland’s Runelords books are among the best fantasies on the market today. Great characters, a fascinating concept, and some really nasty monsters make each novel a pleasure to read.” (Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times best-selling author of A Forest of Stars)
"The suspense is real, the action is nonstop, and the characterizations continue to convince. . . . [this is] a series that has put Farland on high-fantasy readers' maps." ( Booklist)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A satisfying conclusion!

An epic conclusion to Gaborns story which I very much enjoyed, it was full of action and some truly gripping moments. But above all it was the ending to a journey which I have thoroughly immersed myself in and found exciting and thrilling. Certain characters finally get there well deserved comeuppance which I found very satisfying. But it was the end for the journey and for many characters and I carnt help feeling I have lost some good friends but I'm looking forward to the next four books and the next chapters in this incredible world.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Adnan
  • 02-01-11

A very good ending to the series

My review for the whole series (including this book) is pretty much the same as i gave it for the last book which i am copying below. The great thing about this book is that it completes the series.

If you are looking for the 'fantastic' part in a fantasy, this is your book.

World is vivid, and it is serious where people with power held up to serious responsibilities. The magic system is unique, and story line moves at a fast pace. Characters are flushed out, and narrator does justice to them.

My only gripe is that this is a very serious book and does not stop for any light moments. Though, given the background and pace of the book, i am not surprised.

I highly recommend this series.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amanda K
  • 15-09-11

A nice finish

loved this series. a bit bloody, definatly not for kids, but a good story. Narration was good, I liked it and enjoyed Ray's voice and different characters.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Chuckc72
  • 01-05-13

Fast paced epic adventure

I was pleasantly surprised by this series of books and would highly recommend them to anyone who is a fan of good fantasy. My only problem with the story is that it takes place in just over a week yet vast distances are traveled by armies. Other than that I was really swept away in this adventure and feel as though I know these characters very well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jeff
  • 29-01-11

Satisfying

While there were some predictable parts to this there were also some surprises. Overall this is a fast paced book that keeps your attention until the end.

I do have to say that I was very tired of the narrator by the end. There are multiple spots where the book switches to another subplot and there not even a pause between sentences. I had to back up and really pay attention to catch the change.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Scott
  • 05-03-13

The Saga ends...and peace begins.

Gaborn's journey to becoming the Earth King comes to a dramatic and victorious end. He maintains his humanity even though he has caused the lose of life and innocent along the way. This audible edition is an enjoyable listen and is recommend if you enjoy epic fantasy and telling of a tales and myths.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Devon
  • 09-11-11

Great ending to a great series

This book wraps up the series perfectly. All the fast paced action that you would expect from the first three books, plus an epic ending. I can't wait for the 4 books in the second series to become available on audible.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • John Blair
  • 04-08-18

Should end the series here

Didn’t love the book. It was okay. For me, I’m ending the series here. The final book in the series is long overdue. This is a good ending point for the series. I loved the first book. But listening to this one, I found I would rather listen to almost anything else first. If you’ve started the series and like it, this is a good one to end with until/unless the final book ever gets written.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Michael Mauney
  • 22-05-18

Here it is...

Here it comes. the moment every book lover dreads. An ending to a beautiful story. While this world continues to spin tales in another set of Runelords book, the stories of the many characters we've grown to love may be coming to an end.

I'll spoil nothing, but I was extremely emotional by the end. How wonderful for a story to not only grasp my mind, but my heart as well.

I look forward to the next book, and the next set.

I'd heap more praise up Ray Porter, but what else is there to say? He is amazing.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Bobby Williams
  • 20-06-17

Definitely an edge of seat kind of book

Lair of bones was a great wrap up for the story arc that David Farland hooed to create. this story makes you an feel as if you are a "white" traveling along with each character as the walk the story on and on. there is a point in the middle that it slows down, but it is only so that you can take a break from the immense action David takes you on to the end. this was truly a modern Epic.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 14-03-17

amazing conclusion

this is an amazingly well done conclusion to one of my favorite stories. i can't wait to continue listening to the next Saga in the Runelords books.