Listen free for 30 days

The House of Shadows

De Witt Family, Book 3
Narrated by: Katie Scarfe
Series: De Witt Family, Book 3
Length: 14 hrs and 26 mins
Categories: Fiction, Historical
5 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The final compelling historical saga concluding a trilogy that began with Storms of War and The Edge of the Fall, from popular TV historian and critically acclaimed author Kate Williams.

The De Witt family, who once led an idyllic and privileged life, are struggling to piece together the shattered fragments of their lives in the aftermath of the Great War. In 1939, the world is on the verge of turmoil with the approaching storm of the Second World War. The fragile peace of the De Witts' world is threatened once again as the family must deal with the consequences of another devastating war.

The fascinating story of the De Witt family goes behind the history to show the drama and wonder of early 20th-century lives in gripping, cinematic fiction which will appeal to fans of Downton Abbey, Atonement and Birdsong.

©2018 Kate Williams (P)2018 Orion Publishing Group

Critic reviews

"A beautifully conjured family saga. Fans of Downton Abbey will love it." (Alison Weir)

"This terrific saga comes with a fascinating twist... Williams has a gift for showing how great movements in history affect the lives of people caught up in them." (The Times)  

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Annoyingly addictive

This is the third story in the series in which the rather annoying Celia is the heroine. Under the guise of caring about her family more than anything else in the world she drives her son away by not standing up to her sister, omits to suspect the one obvious person in the story who encouraged him, keeps her fiancé hanging cruelly on a string for years, blocks the one chance the family she is supposed to love has of keeping the house because of her own daft ideas, ends up by her actions causing members of her family to take their lives, jilts her fiancé ...........I could go on forever about what an idiot she is!! However, if the test of a good book is whether it raises your emotions, and this book certainly raised my emotions of frustration and dislike of the main character, then maybe it deserves the overall 4 stars I gave it.