Listen free for 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Good Wife cover art

The Good Wife

By: Eleanor Porter
Narrated by: Katherine Press
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £13.99

Buy Now for £13.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Wheelwright's Daughter cover art
The Witch's Tree cover art
A Vision of Light cover art
The Lady of the Loch cover art
Son of Avonar cover art
Mary Ann Sate, Imbecile cover art
The Running Wolf cover art
The Year of Ancient Ghosts cover art
The Errant Hours cover art
The Prophet cover art
Hue & Cry cover art
Echoes of the Runes cover art
The Prophet's Wife cover art
The Altarpiece cover art
The Sorrow Stone cover art
The Witch's Knight cover art

Summary

Where will her loyalty lead her? 

Once accused of witchcraft, Martha Spicer is now free from the shadow of the gallows and lives a safe and happy life with her husband, Jacob. But when Jacob heads north to accompany his master, he warns Martha to keep her healing gifts a secret, to keep herself safe, to be a good wife. 

Martha loves Jacob, but without him there to protect her, she soon comes under the suspicious eye of the wicked Steward Boult, who’s heard of her talent and forces her to attend to him. If she refuses, he promises to destroy the good life she has built for herself with Jacob. 

Desperate and alone, Martha faces a terrible decision: stay and be beholden to Boult or journey north to find Jacob, who is reported to have been killed.... 

The road ahead is filled with danger, but also the promise of a brighter future. And where her gifts once threatened to be her downfall, might they now be the very thing that sets Martha free? 

The brilliant follow-up to Eleanor Porter's first novel of love, betrayal, superstition and fear in Elizabethan England. A story of female courage, ingenuity and determination, this is perfect for fans of Tracy Chevalier.

©2021 Eleanor Porter (P)2021 Boldwood Books Ltd

What listeners say about The Good Wife

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent!

loved it ! absolutely wonderful narrator.
this book has everything to keep you from putting it down!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful