Try an audiobook on us

The Girl in the Letter

Narrated by: Jane McDowell
Length: 10 hrs and 4 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (83 ratings)
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes, this gripping novel of long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever.

A heartbreaking letter. A girl locked away. A mystery to be solved.

1956. When Ivy Jenkins falls pregnant she is sent in disgrace to St Margaret's, a dark, brooding house for unmarried mothers. Her baby is adopted against her will. Ivy will never leave.

Present day. Samantha Harper is a journalist desperate for a break. When she stumbles on a letter from the past, the contents shock and move her. The letter is from a young mother, begging to be rescued from St Margaret's. Before it is too late. 

Sam is pulled into the tragic story and discovers a spate of unexplained deaths surrounding the woman and her child. With St Margaret's set for demolition, Sam has only hours to piece together a 60-year-old mystery before the truth, which lies disturbingly close to home, is lost for ever....

Read her letter. Remember her story.... 

©2018 Emily Gunnis (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Ltd

Critic reviews

"A great book, truly hard to put down. Fast paced, brilliantly plotted and desperately sad at times - all hallmarks of a best seller." (Lesley Pearse)

"I was gripped by The Girl in the Letter. The story is compelling, twisty, heart-wrenching and thought-provoking. A novel that stays with you." (Sophie Kinsella) 

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A fairly good read...

... but as another reader said, there were so many characters that it was easy to lose track of who was who. I thought the idea was good though and the story revealed the harsh realities for many young pregnant girls in the 1950s and 60s.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Narrated well

The story itself was ok but too many characters that I didn't form any investment with At times it was going too quickly yet the phone dialogue was authentic Fairly good overall

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant haunting powerful

The more we uncover the depths of dark deeds done by so called religious caring humans dedicated to Christ? the more we see how toxic religions can be.. its more like the complete inversion to what Christ stood for... The worst being those who should be trusted .. This might be termed fiction but we know it's true and now hundreds of priests and cardinals world wide arrested.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping Story

I found myself seething at the injustices and almost egging on the revengeful actions. Extremely hard to put down book
The story is so strong that it almost tells itself. An excellent read.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story

All good but for the stupid phone call recordings, which are very difficult to hear without adjusting the volume (is is frequently not possible). Quite why we have to hear it like a 30s phone call I don’t know, but it is irritating.


The story is well plotted, the characters well formed and it has a ‘traditional’ end.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!!

Couldn't put this book down. I got a bit confused at the beginning and had to read the first couple of chapters again. When I understood all the characters I was hooked and really enjoyed the story and all the different characters.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

great listen

Good read gripping in places . scary two in parts Enjoyed very much but so sad

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!!

Loved this story... very sad but in-depth through generations with unbelievable history! Kept the attention throughout. Highly recommend

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • CCL
  • 13-01-19

The Girl in the Letter

Excellent. Listened in audio and could not put it down.

Looking forward to more books by the author.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • TammyR
  • 11-01-19

Engrossing and Heartbreaking Story

Captivating, intricately woven story performed beautifully by Jane McDowell. I didn't want to quit listening.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Beach Rosie
  • 05-01-19

Unthinkable !

The subject matter was quite unbelievable, but the story was riveting! I didn’t want to put it down, and the narrative was very likable. I don’t know to whom, or if I’d recommend this novel. It was very disturbing.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Danette Hunter
  • 30-12-18

Way too Gorey for me.

I tried to get into it several times. But then it just got so creepy I couldn't keep listening to it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kr1062
  • 28-12-18

The Girl in the Letter

Honestly, at the beginning I thought the book was a bit slow. Then, it opened up and captivated me with the story of a home for unwed girls. Unfortunately, this story was drawn from the truth about young women who had their babies taken away for adoption. The storyline was like a snake that slithered through families until we realize the relationship between the characters. Great book!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • lou
  • 11-12-18

Good

Pay attention to all the characters or it's a bit difficult to follow the story line. I did enjoy the book.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Milton Baker
  • 27-11-18

too hard to follow

Too hard to follow. I did not finish it. I did not enjoy this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jenifer P.
  • 23-11-18

AMAZING

The absolute best book I have ever read!!! heart wrenching, tear jerking, emotional thriller ever!! this will have you on your seat, you will not be able to put it down!! you will not be sorry either!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Joseph A. Melfi
  • 17-11-18

entertaining

I suppose it was entertaining but I actually wanted it to end and then didnt like the way the author ended it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • uffdasuzanne
  • 04-11-18

I couldn't put it down

I couldn't put it down. I had to find out what happened at St. Margaret's.