Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The Girl in Room 12 cover art

The Girl in Room 12

By: Kathryn Croft
Narrated by: Naomi Frederick
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £19.00

Buy Now for £19.00

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Split cover art
On a Quiet Street cover art
Your Perfect Life cover art
The Wedding Guest cover art
The Teacher's Secret cover art
The Baby cover art
The Garden Party cover art
Mother of the Bride cover art
Such a Loving Couple cover art
My Husband's Affair cover art
You, Me, Her cover art
The Mistress cover art
Someone Like You cover art
We All Keep Secrets cover art
I Let Her In cover art
The Child at My Door cover art

Summary

My husband was the last person to see the girl in room 12. But did he kill her? Our gorgeous house on our quiet tree-lined street is completely safe, the perfect place to raise our little girl. Or so I thought. Because my heart beats out of my chest when I hear the news tonight. A beautiful young woman has been killed in the River Walk Hotel, barely five minutes away. How can something so awful happen here?

I try to block the shocking story out as I kiss my sweet daughter goodnight, her blonde curls fanning out onto the pillow. I just want my husband Max to come home–I don’t feel safe.

I start to tidy up the house, the only way to distract myself from my swirling thoughts. And that’s when I find it. It’s unmistakable. A key card for room 12 at the River Walk Hotel. Where that poor girl has just been found dead. It must be a coincidence. Right?

My hand starts to shake as I think back over the last few days. I know Max has been a bit distracted, arriving home late at night. I’ve started to become paranoid that he could be having an affair. But never something like this.

I tell myself that Max couldn’t kill anyone. He’s a family man now, different to who he was before. Even so, I should go to the police right away. But I can’t.

Because if I do, I’m scared they’ll start to suspect me. How much do I really know about the girl in room 12? And if the truth comes out, how far will I go to protect my precious family?

A completely gripping thriller from bestselling author Kathryn Croft that will leave you breathless as you listen. Fans of Lisa Jewell, K.L. Slater and Freida McFadden will be captivated by The Girl in Room 12.

©2024 Kathryn Croft (P)2024 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Transform your day

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Listen everywhere

Listen everywhere

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Carry your entire Library

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Listen and learn

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Reach your reading goals

Reach your reading goals

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Find your niche

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for £0.00 £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

What listeners say about The Girl in Room 12

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Easy listening classic psychological thriller

I enjoyed this but it was very far-fetched so you really have to suspend your disbelief.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a real conundrum

wow. a real conundrum with its twists and turns almost from page one. the deceptions abound, mistrust, hidden betrayals, jealousy, fear, misguided love.... it's all in this one as it twists about towards it's fine finale. the narration was perfect.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story. Kept you guessing and s bit of a twist on the end

I particularly liked how the book kept your interest. So many novels go off at a tangent and become very boring and long winded

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible

Hours I will never get back. Badly written and ridiculous plot! It was so unbelievable and I can’t understand the positive reviews.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Ridiculous!

Nothing added up. Could not even bare to listen to the last 36 minutes. So much padding out - terrible

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

So long and boring and nothing happens

So long and boring and nothing happens, surprisingly bad storyline and dull characters. the narrator doesn’t manage to make the character any more interesting but isn’t completely terrible.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful